100 Degrees of CANVAS


Advertisement
Europe » Serbia » West » Belgrade
July 20th 2014
Published: July 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Apparently air conditioning is only partially invented here. I know it exists, because I've felt it in a few buildings and rooms. But I'm pretty sure it doesn't exist in my bedroom, and I'm quite sure it doesn't exist in the room that our meeting today was in. At a guess, I'd put the temperature there at somewhere around 412 degrees centigrade, and the humidity around 136%. Regardless, it was an interesting meeting. The Center for Applied Non-Violent Action and Strategies does this most years and they seem to have an idea of how to do it. They walked us through how non-violent action works (and how much better than violent action it is, in terms of results and number of casualties), then had us start working on our own, hypothetical non-violent campaigns. My team chose to protest the lack of worker's rights in several developing countries, but focused on the issues surrounding the construction of the Qatar 2022 World Cup. If you haven't heard about the plethora of issues there, look it up. Fascinating mismanagement.

After the meeting, Dave and Mara and I went for a run along the river. After that, a nice dinner downtown at a random restaurant we found seemed like a good move...it was. Bacon wrapped fried sausage. That is all. On the way back, I found a present for you whiskey people out there: Johnnie Walker Platinum for about $120. As I've said...EVERYTHING is cheaper here. Besides that, it was a fairly boring day. I put together my flight itinerary for the second half of my trip, after the academic part ends, then went through the approximately 15,879 photos my tripmates posted to Facebook. Now my next challenge is falling asleep in a room that may have been transported to Death Valley. Wish me luck...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb