St Petersburg - A brief history lesson.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia
July 10th 2017
Published: July 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

St Petersburg was not named after Peter the Great but after St Peter one of the 12 apostles. Many people told us you need at least 5 days in st Petersburg and I have to agree. So much to see and do. One place we went was the Hermitage museum and I would strongly recommend it. It is former winter home of the noble class. Inside are rooms which display the pomp and excess of the noble class at the time. Also inside are Russian and European artwork as well as some Egyptian mummy stuff. I am beginning to wonder is any Egyptian mummy stuff left in Egypt. We quickly completed the hermitage in 3 hours. Next was a bus tour of the city. This was to be a 2 hour tour, intended to teach us more about the city. However, I spent the first 45 mins asleep and learned nothing 😞. However I did see how much I didn't see and made me realize how lovely a city it is and that I will come back. It's a lovely city, food and drink not as expensive as we thought . The people just get on about their business and generally not that interested, kinda like your average commuter crowd .
There is something about Mary!!
Mary is not Yana's real name but to protect her identity we will call her Mary. Mary is staying in the b and b too. Can only speak Russian and German. Communication is done via our landlady. Somewhere along the line things got a little confused. Mary thinks we are Iranian not Irish and her son couldn't get a tourist visa and drilled us on why. I told her maybe if he got one for UK he might get in via Northern Ireland, which would make sense if Northern Ireland was next door to Iran. Since then she has not spoken to us. I am tempted to get an Iranian Jersey and wear it hear on my last day, just hope it won't get us a stint in a Gulag.
Lada Myth Busted!!
Yesterday , say police car with bonnet up and would not start, it was a Lada, so badly wanted to take photo but the smart brain cell told me not too. Not sure if one can blog in a Gulag.
Moscow still the kettle on!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb