Train to Ekaterinburg and Day 1 of E


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Urals » Yekaterinburg
July 17th 2006
Published: July 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I got on the train in the early afternoon, after a nice morning at the river, and away I went. I was in a sleeper with a family of three, a mother, daughter in early 20's, and the little brother of 9. We were quiet for a bit, but the mother could not contain herself, far to curious of this english man, and started yelling at her daughter. I could hear the words angliski so figured she must be telling her to speak with me, "you have learned this in school, start using it"!!! I was correct. So, we started speaking, I got the phrasebook out and we fumbled through many hours of talking...what a curious mother she had! It was a good visit, and I was fed very well. They love to feed you here. They left before me and were replaced by 3 men, smelly like me, who did not speak any english, so the last few hours were silent. I left the train at 2am, the train attendant came and woke me. I then left the train, with no place to stay and walked into the station. What a huge station, and so many people walking around, it was past 2am. I knew of a hotel that was directly across from the station, so was not too worried about a place to stay. As soon as I got to the parking lot, a taxi driver approached me speaking english. Where you staying, you need a ride? I am just going over to that hotel over there. Oh, dont go there, very expensive, I'll get you a cheaper place...dont worry, trust me, no problems...so you know what, I was so distrustful of all the other drivers, that I said, this is probably the worst possible time to trust someone, but also, the best possible time. So, into the cab I got, and away we went. He charged me way to much, but not merciless too much. He did make good on his promise, as it was the cheapest room of the trip so far, 12 for a dorm style room of four beds and a shared shower, very clean and very old, state run hotel he called it. I fell asleep immediately as my head hit. Then the partiers came home a few hours later, but I managed to get to sleep again. What to find in Ekat, who knows????

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb