Trans Siberian Day Two


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Siberia » Irkutsk
April 29th 2008
Published: June 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

SundownSundownSundown

Yet another day of sunshine - but no sign of snow!
So I wake to my first full day on the Trans-Siberian! Not much sleep but I did manage to pass out for a few hours. The lady in the carriage slipped out sometime in the night and so my soldier friend is more comfortable in an all male environment. We only manage one main stop today where there is food and so it is pot noodle for the second day in a row - almost like being a student again - but I am struggling with it. The choice is pot mash - not really a choice and I would love some fruit but nevermind. There is a supply of pistachio nuts and chocalate so I can definitely survive. I offer to share my spoils with the Russian soldier but he refuses all offers. I don't see him eat anything and he seems to just drink over sugared tea - he is tough - a fighting , and sleeping machine. Later I see him pull a stash of food from under his bed - so I realise that he does not like to eat with company and so I leave him to it. So I spend my time copying the complete
High Density ShacksHigh Density ShacksHigh Density Shacks

Must be a city!
lonely planet russian phrasebook which provides alot of amusement for everyone - including my military colleague who laughs alot at my attempts. Looking out the window the scenery is quite uniform at this stage shacks - some bridges - occasional city - shacks - wilderness - pine trees - silver birch - shacks. Although looking innocent the landscape is notoriosly dangerous for the lack of landmarks causing disorientation. Looking into the Siberian Handbook I cannot find my train number which gets me worried as I think I am on the super slow service! But as I head for bed we are just about to come to Perm - Russia's largest freight yard - ace! There is an interesting story in the Handbook of an RL Jefferson who cycled the route from London and was entertained here by the local cycling club!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Industrial LandscapeIndustrial Landscape
Industrial Landscape

Yekaterinburg/Sverdlovsk - Just south of here (around 45km) Gary Powers was shot down in the U2 spy plane in 1960. Not a warm welcome as you could imagine and he must have been terrified as American's would not have been common sights on the Trans Sib then. Parts of the wreckage are still on display in one of the museums.
My TrainMy Train
My Train

The 350 service train!
The Classic Trans SibThe Classic Trans Sib
The Classic Trans Sib

I would take another four days travel time to use one of these - but unfortunately now a museum piece - very stylish though!
Foodstop!Foodstop!
Foodstop!

But with no food!
Minor Train StationMinor Train Station
Minor Train Station

Luton Airport Parkway!
LandscapeLandscape
Landscape

Open Wilderness.
The CorridorThe Corridor
The Corridor

My refuge from the soldier!
Snooooooooooooooooow!Snooooooooooooooooow!
Snooooooooooooooooow!

Now that thermal underwear seems woth the effort! Although I would point out that the train is very very warm!
With Food!!!!!!!!With Food!!!!!!!!
With Food!!!!!!!!

Although just basics!
SundownSundown
Sundown

Beautiful sundown on day two!
Trans Sib BridgeTrans Sib Bridge
Trans Sib Bridge

All of the bridges are listed in detail in the handbook - but they are all of similar construction and there are no Brunel's or Telford's here.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb