Last day in Moscow


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest
July 11th 2011
Published: July 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was to be my last day in Moscow, so I was up early and determined to find the goddamn entrance to the Kremlin today, and guess what ?? I did !!!! I walked a different way and literally came out of a subway and there was a sign saying "kacca Kpemль" which I could read as ticket Kremlin !!!!
I've learnt nearly all my Russian alphabet so if the words sound like English when you spell them then I can sort of work out what it means, as you can see I am typing on a dual language keyboard that can type English and Russian letters.

Sorry I'm digressing, so there was only about 4 people in front of me in the Kremlin queue so I bought my ticket and in I went ......... Oh my was I surprised !!! its gorgeous, made up of about 5 cathedrals, 3 palaces and lots of beautiful statues, plus the all important government buildings, and its all inside a big high walled triangle. I imagined it to be just government buildings and all very drab and orstier, but hell no !!!!! It was lovey to wander around all the different buildings, and there was an exhibition of faberge jewellery and eggs too which was again unexpected. There were also gardens to wander around, with neat plant displays, statues and little fountains, (obviously!). It felt sooo relaxing walking around them with my ice-cream that I could have stayed there all day, so all in all, you get a good deal for your rebels in the Kremlin.

I took lots of photos and I'll try to put them on but don't hold your breath ...... sorry :{

Then I went to buy my train ticket to take me from Moscow back to St Petersburg at the end of this week, and considering how long it took me last time, I went early ........ and guess what ??? easy peasy, 5 mins in the queue, 5 mins gesticulating what I wanted, and hey presto , done !!!!! So I was feeling pretty pleased with myself, I can tell ya 😊

Then it was a long metro ride to Goryk park, I remember seeing a film of the same name, anyway I got off the Metro which had come overland for the last stop and was greeted by a really beautiful view of the river. The walls of the Metro station are all glass so you can see the whole of Moscow. The station is very modern with massive glass showcases showing off pottery and glassware and all things pretty.

I walked around the park for a couple of hours, it was reasonably quiet people wise, so you could hear the birds-a-tweeting and little red squirrels running about. The park has lots of woods as well as more open spaces and it was like doing a hash at times !!!!!
I had various cold drinks and ice creams along the way and I even had to use my umbrella as a sun shade as I was so hot and I was starting to melt away !!!

I decided to treat myself to a boat ride back to red Square as I didn't want to walk up the big hill to the Metro. The usual confusion as to which boat trip I wanted and which direction I was going, but I'm used to always having a weird experience when buying any kind of ticket. Finally made myself understood and got on the right boat. The trip was lovely and I got to see different aspects of places I'd been to before.

Then back home to my hostel to be greeted by Dasha the girl I went to the circus with, bless her she was so excited to see me .... she had bought me a present ....... a little wind up musical dome with all the pictures of Moscow on it, I was so touched, bless her. She said she had really liked talking to me and wanted to get me something to remember Moscow and say bye bye. She was the only member of staff in the hostel who talked to the travellers, the other two blokes just grunted and if you asked something they would just say "no speak English" but funnily enough could speak English when they wanted you to pay the bill !!!!

So I went for a last visit to the "covent garden" place near by, and has my last meal at My-My's and bought one of the cinnamon buns for the bus journey to Suzdal tomorrow. Suzdal is a small town of 15,000 people in the countryside, its a 4 hour bus ride so I'm leaving early in the morning to find the bus station, and I can buy my ticket there and then. We'll see how it goes tomorrow !!!!

thanks again for reading my stuff, its lovely reading your messages, and I am trying to put photos on here honestly, but it never seems to work !!!



xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb