First Real Week


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
February 14th 2015
Published: February 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hey hey hey, so it has probably been too long since my last update so there is plenty to cover.

Okay first and foremost, last Sunday I went to the Hermitage museum on a tour with my group. It might of actually bee the coolest and oldest building I have ever been inside. Well actually it is made up of several buildings, one of which is the winter palace the former home of the Czar and his family. Which means I got to see the throne room which was insane. Basically everything was leafed with gold. Eventually we got to the art gallery and while I am definitely not a connoisseur I was still really something to behold. The museum has the largest collect of Rembrandt works in the world and many many works by other masters of antiquity.

Classes are intense. Its odd, very odd, being in class all day rather than coming and going all day. I almost feel like I'm back in high school, well at least while I am a school. About half of my classes are entirely in Russian which is let's just say difficult.

Also last night I went to a one man show in one of the oldest "theaters" in St. Petersburg. Theater is in quotes because it was in an apartment and the stage was one room that we all (20 people) sat around along the walls. There was some pretty excellent stagecraft including but not limited to, a two way mirror and a hidden door. If any one wants to read it, the show was basically a monologue of "The Dream of a Ridiculous Man." Its a very short story over all worth the read.

Okay well that's basically everything except for the fact that my hosts cat has decided it doesn't like me. That's kind of inconvenient. Till next time

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb