Heading East


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Saint Petersburg
December 9th 2010
Published: December 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Trans-Siberian

I just played connect the dots with cities...

Hi Everyone!

Yeah, I've been a bit lazy when it comes to the blog, but I've been quite busy with school and making travel plans. As you may, or may not know, I'm going to be staying here over the break (Dec. 10 - Jan. 29). Instead of sitting around St. Pete and twiddling my thumbs I will be twiddling those thumbs sitting on a train for about 7 days while I make the 5,753 mi (9,259 km) journey through 8 different time zones on the Trans-Siberian Railway. I didn't think I'd have anyone to go with and so gave my venture up for lost until I found out that Djib had been wanting to do the same thing (actually that's how we became friends in the first place). We're leaving tomorrow at 2:48pm local time, getting into Moscow around 11pm then taking the train to Irkutsk about half past midnight. That's the first leg of the Trans-Siberian and we'll be arriving to Irkutsk the morning of the 14th.

We'll be spending about 3 days there, exploring Lake Baikal and the surrounding region. We're leaving on the 17th and should be getting to Vladivostok on the 20th. I'm going to be writing a daily journal (since I'll really have nothing else to do) so I'll have plenty to report upon my return.

From Vladivostok Djib and I will go our seperate ways, he's returning to Belgium on the 23rd and I'm flying back to Moscow on the 22nd, staying overnight there, and then flying to Riga, Latvia on the 23rd. I decided that I'd like to spend Christmas in a country that celebrates it on the 25th. Latvia is close and not too expensive (unlike Finland) and has the added bonus of being the home of the first Christmas Tree! Actually I'll have 3 Christmases this year since Russians celebrate their holiday mainly on New Year's Day, but Russian Orthodox Christmas is on January 7th. I'm thinking of going to Novgorod and attending Orthodox Christmas service in Russia's oldest church, but I'm not decided yet.

I'm staying there for about 5 days and taking the overnight train back on the 28th so I'll be back in Piter on the 29th and ready to relax no doubt! I'll have plenty of pics to post and things to talk about once I'm back!

Merry Christmas!!!

Advertisement



9th December 2010

God bless your travels and Christmas
God Jul!
9th December 2010

Wonderful Journey
Best wishes for a great trip! The map and details of your journey will allow many of us to "journey" along more vividly in our imagination. Take care and enjoy!
2nd January 2011

So How were the 3 Christmases?? How was the Trans-Siberian journey! Do tell :)

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb