Shopping on Arbat Street


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
September 23rd 2006
Published: September 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had a great day today shopping. I left plenty of money on Arbat street, but had a great time. It was beatiful outside so walking the street (no jokes there...lol) playing the game with the vendors on price. I had walked in this one store and played the game with them for almost two hours as I kept adding things (that I wanted) and getting a bigger discount. So just when they thought we had a price on everything, I would ask for another 10% off. They were not happy and would not agree so I started to walk out and they stopped me just as I opened the door and said they would accept my offer if I paid cash, which opened the door wide open again...lol (I can play at this game, but the only problem, I did not have that kind of cash on me, only about half of it; however, I did not let them know that.) By the time it was all said and done, I think I got about a 40% discount. Just know you can and should "play the game" with them if you shop on Arbat Street. There are too many shops selling the same thing so play the game!

Besides having fun with the vendors, I also enjoyed a beatiful day. I think it was in the mid-70's today with the sun just a shining. It was nice and I think one of the last we will see for a long time...lol

I also used the metro again today and I am getting more comfortable with it. I am no pro, but I am feeling a little more comfortable and do not take quite as long as I use to. You start finding clues that help, but it is not well marked or easy. I am getting more use to it, but I still do not see how anyone can sleep or read on these things. They are so noisey! I seriously bet if OSHA was here we would be above the noise level standards where hearing protection would be required. That and I hate with the lights all go out for a few seconds. That is scary! I do not know why, but they do. I was carrying all of my purchases so I watched my bags very carefully.

Anyways, that was about it today. I am going to stay around Obninsk tomorrow and do some personal shopping as well as work on a report that I would like to finish up before Monday. No pictures for you so you just have to read. Take care and have a great weekend.

Advertisement



23rd September 2006

I always knew you were a great negotiator! lol Glad to hear you're able to get around on the metro easier. I always wanted to ride one and once in Chicago I tried to ride the EL but the people I was with were too scared so we ended up in a cab - and that scared the heck out of me as it was. But maybe the next chance I have I will for sure. Take Care.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb