The next great adventure ideas.....planning begins now!!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
December 6th 2014
Published: December 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone....



I just wanted to put some thoughts down on paper and maybe get some feedback for my next long trip that I am currently planning after finishing my contract in Turkey mid next year. I have several options that I am strongly considering and had to change some original planning due to recent developments. Anyway, if any of my followers have been to some of these places your feedback and links to a blog you have written about them would be greatly appreciated Or if you just would like to share your thoughts that would be great as well. So with that below are my route options For July/august 2015 with a time frame of 4-6 months of traveling....



1. India/Sri Lanka/Burma

2. Eastern Europe and the Balkans Eliminated from consideration

3. China/South Korea/Taiwan/japan/Philippines/Indonesia/Malaysia/Singapore/Myanmar (Asia tour) ELIMINATED FROM CONSIDERATION

4. Mexico (again because I lost close to 3,000 pics of my time there bc my external hard drive crashed)/Belize/crossing the Darien from Panama to Colombia ELIMINATED FROM CONSIDERATION

5. Finish South America Via a canoe trip down The Amazon from Ecuador/Brazil/Venezuela/Guyana/Suriname/French Guiana/Uruguay/Paraguay/Argentina/Chile/Bolivia

6. Southern Africa ...South Africa/Lesotho/Swaziland/Namibia/Botswana/Zimbabwe/Zambia/Tanzania/Angola/Malawi



As you can see it's a wide range of ideas, but the good thing about traveling is...there's no shortage of ideas and adventures to be had!! It's been quite a while since I took an extended period of time for me...so I want this to be an exciting adventure!



Anyways thanks in advance to those who read it and contribute it is really appreciated!!



Much love travelers..be safe and keep your feet in motion trekking this beautiful planet we live on!!



Greg

Advertisement



6th December 2014

Travel ideas...
Since you are starting in Turkey, you might try the Silk Road all the way across Central Asia to Xian, China. You could then head south to Southeast Asia or east to Korea and Japan before heading south. Then you could fly to Kenya (or Cairo) where you overland to Cape Town. From Cape Town you can fly to Rio and begin your South America trip. There are organized overland tours (http://www.dragoman.com/ being just one of many) that make the Silk Road, African, and South American logistics easier and affordable. You can find many TBers who have chosen to travel this way, including "sarahwalker" and "Weir travels." While you are in Turkey you should spend a holiday in the Balkans. I will be in Croatia and Slovenia the second half of April and my research reveals great history and scenery. I hope this helps!
6th December 2014

Hi bob!
Thanks so much for the great advice and tips I really appreciate your thoughts and ideas! I have been to Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan and along the Silk Road as well as parts of Southeast Asia (Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand) already. I'm still in the planning stages at the moment as I have quite a while before I will take the next adventure on. I'm definitely looking forward to it though it's been a while since I've just hit the road and got out of the classroom for a few months. Right now back to Latin America is leading the race, but things change and ideas also,but those are the options for adventures that I will have to choose from :) thanks again Bob!!
7th December 2014

Range of ideas
You have an amazing list ahead of you. My personal opinion is that I would prefer to go to Mexico different months because of the heat but we love Mexico. If you are truly considering all of them and don't have any real preference you might do what we did recently. We put the names of countries that were on our short list on a piece of paper and tossed them in a bowl. We had a party with a group of friends and let them draw out of the bowl. The last country was where we are going in 2017. Look out Chile...here we come.
7th December 2014

Thanks so much...
Hi Dave and Merry..thanks again for taking the time to comment and giving some insight!! That sounds like a great plan, puting all the ideas on pieces of paper and letting others choose it for me. I just may do that actually if I cannot choose on my own. As I've said before in my blogs Latin America for me has always been the bees knees lol, so I would like to get back over there and finish up what I've missed (which there are plenty of countries and things I could easily make a long trip out of), but we will see. Anyway thanks again for taking time to share your thoughts and ideas I really appreciate it! Chile will be great, it's still a country I haven't been to yet so I may be down there when you guys go if I choose to finish up South America. Have a great weekend!!! --Greg

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb