Communism all the way!


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
June 12th 2011
Published: June 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Underground stationUnderground stationUnderground station

I know, not a piece of grafitti in sight
Well I have managed to pack in all the Russian eras , the Zsars, the Bolshoviks, the Red Army, communism, Cold War and even a dead and very well preserved dictator.
I have photographed more churches than songs of praise could ever feature on TV. Seen what Russia wants to be proud of and the darker side of their history which they are not so proud of, but all of which is very much a must see.

Nearly forgot, oh my god, the underground stations are like exquisite 1930s' dance halls, you get off the train and you walk onto the platform and it makes you want to grab the man next you and start waltzing around.

However still not feeling the Russian vibe, I was expecting Ladas, oppression, food shortages and queues for bread, vodka swilling natives. I have been seriously lucked out here, I demand my money back!

Here in Moscow there are more millionaires per sq mile than anywhere in the world and boy, does it show. I wanted a pound shop! Nope, the only shops were Mont Blanc, Cartier, Louis Vouton and not to mention all that heute couture that was not only in
The KremlinThe KremlinThe Kremlin

All those dictators and secrets
the shop windows but also being paraded around on the streets.

The only two things which i was totally unabel to see (that was through beaurocratic nonsense) was a swim in the 1980 Olympic Pool, which I needed a doctors certificate for to say I am healthy to actually swim. (I want a certificate to say it is safe for me to swim in it) and the KGB wasn't accepting any visitors for the forseable future. At least I got the Cold War Bunker in. Oh well I at least I have something to do when I come back next time.

All in all it has been fantastic.

Tonight we are back on the train for the marathon one of 5 nights and 4 days and we will be passing through 5 time zones and we will still be in Russia. Next stop Irkustk, so until then and hopefully tales of some vodka swilling Russian men! See you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

St Basel Red SquareSt Basel Red Square
St Basel Red Square

Another church but impressive none the less
Olympic Swimming PoolOlympic Swimming Pool
Olympic Swimming Pool

The one which I needed the cerificate for in all it's communist glory
The woman with the golden gun!The woman with the golden gun!
The woman with the golden gun!

Sorry couldn't resist
Cold war bunkerCold war bunker
Cold war bunker

One of the tunnels 60m under the ground


14th June 2011
The woman with the golden gun!

Ha ha - love it!! Keep the stories and pics coming ;-)
15th June 2011

wow!
hey stelly, loving your blog!! Can't bieve how much it's changed since I was there!! Millionaires and no queues are a far cry from my trip. We saw people in long lines for mouldy fruit and stale bread. Mind you, that was 22 years ago...(shit that makes me feel old!). Hope you're having a smashing time. Missing you already! Be safe! x x x PS still can't get over those amazing cakes you made me! They were SO GOOD! And beautiful! Need a cake decorating class with you please when you're back xxx

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb