Told off by a Russian guard.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
August 25th 2010
Published: August 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Woke up in the early hours of the morning to a terrible smell. We thought it was the smog. By the morning there was nothing at all. We negotiated the Metro again but this time on our own. Russian is impossible to read. Our metro station was quite grand and in fact they have about 7 different stations which are pretty amazing. We arrived in red square early to avoid the queues to see Lenin. ( I keep calling him Stalin but I don't see any difference between 1 Russian dictator and another) It was all very official with police and army guards everywhere. When we entered the Mausoleum it was cold and all made in black marble. We struggle to see after coming in from the glaring sun and so slowly and tentatively made are way down the steps. It was silent and one of those occasions where you feel like laughing but you just know you can't. We didn't look at each other. We filed past Lenin (who I think had escaped from Madam Tussuad's) and the guard blew his whistle at me. I looked around not knowing what I had done. (I didn't think that there was anything wrong with squashing my face up to the glass to get a better look!!) Well he gestured to me that i had to take my hands out of my pockets. Oops-Very disrespectful. Jack would not dare look at me incase we burst out laughing. Anyway 5 mins later it was all over. Nothing amazing but it had to be done.

We thought we ought to go to at least one museum whilst here and so went to the History museum. We wanted to go to the cold war bunker but we couldn't find it and it cost a bomb. (No pun intended)

We spent the remainder of the day walking around and site seeing. The best sight was a 7 foot Russian who looked like a shot putter eating chicken nuggets and dipping them into ketchup one at a time in the most delicate manner.

Our silent driver picked us up again to take us to the train station. A short but fun stay in Moscow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0811s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb