Day 2 and 3


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
February 13th 2010
Published: February 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's nearly 9.30 here and we are leaving on a coach to get to the train today. It's all gone really quickly so far but I am gettng used to things now. I have stopped feeling sick with nerves and I didn't cry once yesterday.

For the rest of day 1 I just stayed in and chatted with the new people I have met who are going on the train which was really good. There is a couple called Donna and Rob, a guy called Andy and a guy called Simon.

Woke up fairly late yesterday and when I finally figured out that our shower had no hot water and I had to go to another floor it was nearly mid day. Everything takes twice as long here to ge ready as for starters you have to remember to wear your money belt EVERYWHERE. Most other people don't seem to and they all think I'm a bit paranoid but I don't mind. Also it is so cold it takes about 15 minues to get ready to go out but so boiling in the hostel it is a massive effort! It was so warm here that we sleep wth the windows open at night (very energy effcienct I'm sure!!!).

It was -11C yesterday again but even though you are walking on snow everywhere it is really dry so you never get wet jeans or anything. It's the wind that gets your face though! SO glad i bought a face protector. Bit too much for Moscow but I thnk it will be essential in Mongolia.

So what did I do on my first day in Moscow???... I went to the Zoo. Yes that's right, I shunned the big tourist attractions and we all went to the zoo. It took forever to get there and when we did the first things we saw were some hamsters, chickens a fox and a wolf shivering!?? They had a really good primate house but it definatly was an experince. The guys I had tagged along with felt a bit bad that me and Simon had spent out first day at a zoo but I just thought it was funny and gave me the confidence I needed. I don't think I would have liked figuring out the Metro on my own so it was a good trip out, if not a bit strange. I'm the only one who can speak any Russian or even read it so it's been quite good as have been able to figure thngs out for the group (gold star to me). However the first person I asked in Russian how to get to the station just said "I don't speak English"... fairly embarassing. The Metro just like in St Petersberg is really fancy and ornate so that in itself is cool.

We got back just in tme to go to the supermarket have some cuppa soup and then we had to meet our Honcho and the rest of the people on the tour. Everyone seems quite fun and there is a good mix of ages and countries but everyone speaks English. There is a group of 4 lads who have just finished school. They seem nice but I bet they will be trouble!!!

After we met our Honcho, Meesha, we went out for proper dinner and walked along some of the main roads in Moscow. We ate at a typical Russian place called My My (pronounced Moo Moo) which had some sort out cow theme going on but from what I could tell, didn't really sell beef. I had somestrange chicken thing with Bulgar wheat or something and then some weird ham salad thing and managed to order bottle water "biz gaza" (without gas). They also gave us these sweets called "creamies"... they are amazing, like fudge but not... so good!

We then followed the road down past the Russan government building (ther version of Downing street I suppose) and then onto Red Square and the Basillica Cathedral. It was all very impressive and was well lit up. My camera isn't great at night but managed to figure out the settings and take some pictures. I can't post any on these computers but will get them up when I can!

We then got the Metro back but we were all so cold by the time we got back via the Metro we didn't go out drinking we just stayed in and chatted again.

I got up at 8 this morning and have showered and stuff already so I could go on the internet before I have to go. We have to be checked out and ready by 12 to get on a coach to get to the tran staton. There is no room for being late so I thought I would be ready! Nobody else was awake even when I left the dorm but hope there are now so I can go and pack properly.

Will be on the train for 4 days straight before we get to Irkutsk so will not be able to get on the internet again till then... not sure if there is internet in Irkutsk ether so not sure when I will be able to write again.

I'm having a really good time and although I am missing everyone I'm glad to be out here now and just glad all the visa stuff is now sorted!

Love you all x x x x




Advertisement



13th February 2010

hey hel, did you get any photos of the hamsters?! were they little russian hamsters or tintin sized hamsters? el says are you going on the circum-baikal railway in irkutsk? he has been researching while we're watching the rugby (again). Glad everyone you're going with seem alright, cant believe how cold it is there though. Even here im sitting inside with my grandma hat and scarf on! xxxxx

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb