Dinner with the Ambassador


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Northwest » Moscow
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ambassador's ResidenceAmbassador's ResidenceAmbassador's Residence

It is now under construction as you can see, but I wanted to post his picture that I did not have at the time when I posted this blog.
This is long overdue, I posted several blog entries since I started this one, so I thought I had better get it posted before I get busy with my trip home. I actually started the entry before the dinner party just so I could compare thoughts before and after so here we go...

Monday, June 18, I know it may be boring with a lot of starched white shirt type people, but I am excited about this evening. I have been invited to attend a reception with Ambassador William Burns, the US Ambassador for Russia, at his residence (Spaso House, Spasopeskovskaya ploshchadka, 10 (for those that want to know the exact address)) for some sport figures that are visiting. I do not have a lot of the details, now, nor may I this evening, but I did want to post my excitment and then see how I feel when I return. I came home to shower and get dressed and had a few minutes while I waited on Dasha and Michael (I think more Dasha than Michael...lol) so started this blog entry.


I met Valery, Michael's driver at Michael and Dasha's flat. To no surprised, we waited
EmbassyEmbassyEmbassy

The party was not at the Embassy but at the Ambassador's Residence (Spaso House) near the Embassy, but this was the only picture I had.
an extra 30 minutes. Michael told me that she had to run to the store to get new nylons because the ones she had just did not look and/or fit right. He was not sure which, but of course she could not know this until it was time to get ready...lol So we get going, all of us look very nice.

About half way between Obninsk and plant, Alan calls about a problem at the plant. He wants to know where I am out and then gets really upset that neither Michael nor I told him we were not all riding together. Michael and I had decided it would be a little too cramped, even in Alan's bigger car, for all of us especially since we were all dressed up. He did not like it too much, but after several seconds of silence and I offering to stop by the plant since we had not even passed it yet, he said, "Forget about it." So I guess we should be thanking Dasha for running late so that Alan did not think we completely forgot about him.

About the time we hit the major ring (MKAD) in Moscow, there Alan and his driving go flying by us. We did not have any traffic problems, which is a huge surprise at that time of day and actually get to the Ambassador's residence about an hour early. I lost the bet with Michael because I said we would be ontime, but very close 7 when arriving so I had to buy the first round of drinks. We walked to Arbat street, which is only one block away and had drinks.

I could kick myself so hard in the butt. I brought my camera, hoping to take pictures. Well, as we were getting out the car, someone was taking pictures of the Ambassador's residence and the guard quickly came over and told him pictures were not allowed so I just left my camera in the car. (1) I forget to take any of our pictures while all dressed up and then (2) after we get inside, there are several people with cameras. I am not sure if they were special or not, but I sure wish I would have at least tried to get my camera inside to take pictures.

To know surprise, it was a lot of white starched shirts, but everyone was very friendly and talkative. Not that the Ambassador probably remembers, but I got to meet him and say hello. Poor Dasha was a nervous reck. All the way to Moscow, she is practicing how to say, "Hello Ambassador Burns, it is nice to meet you." She was so worried she would not say his name correctly or mess up some way. I kept telling her, do not worry about it, he puts his underwear on just like we all do and believe it or not, he has to sit down to go to the bathroom when the need arises. (I actually went on with a little more details, but I will spare you all, but let your imagination go, and you will get the picture.) Even with that story, it did not make Dasha laugh as she still worried about meeting the people at the party.

After we made our inital rounds and got some food and drinks, I asked Dasha and Michael if they wanted to go meet Michelle Kwan, who was actually the guest of honor. For those of you that do not know her, she is a five-time world champion US figure skater who was visiting Russian as part of a goodwill and diplomatic mission with the US State Department to build brides to Russian and promote youth, sports and culture. So along with Michelle, there were a lot of other Russian sports figures there, mostly skaters. So as we were inching our way up to say hello, I get cut off at the pass by this lady in a red dress. I am not sure who she was, but she was someone important with the Embassy. She did not do it rudely or to not allow me to talk to Michelle, but she was rushing a good friend of Michelle's to the front so once that happened, we did not have a chance to get in to see her.

From the time we arrived, Dasha kept eying some Russian figure skater. I did not know who he was, but his name was Eugene and I guess he is a world champion and Olympic medalist for Russia. So I asked Dasha if she wanted to meet him. She did not answer, but I led the way, Dasha in the middle and Michael taking up the rear. Eugene was on the balcony with him manager and/or body guard, Pavel, not sure which and I go up and put my hand out as I say, "Hello, my name is Vince, it is nice to meet you." He returns the hand shake and greeting as he smiles at us. Since no one else said anything, I turn and say, "This is my friend Dasha and Michael." Michael reaches in to shake hands and Dasha just stands there. Trying to make a joke, I turn to Dasha and say, "He does speak Russian, you can speak to him in Russian if you would like." Dasha still stands there and finally utters, "Hi" in English. Micheal and I have a short conversation with him as he and Dasha stare at each other. As we were getting ready to leave, he asks Dasha if she would like some tickets to his show on Thursday, well all of the sudden she gets her voice back and says, "Yes." Eugene, "Give Paval your number and we will call you with the tickets." Michael and I just laugh that he wants her number and not ours...lol

After she catches up with us, she says, "I hate you and I am going to kill both of you tomorrow" with her fist pointing at us. I tell her, she loved it and she knows it; but she really did have tearie eyes from being so nervousness. We laugh and joke about it. She was honestly scared and did not know what to say, but she did thank me later for introducing everyone.

I decide to walk around the limited area we were allowed to walk around. It was a very nice place and an excellent place for entertaining. There was plenty of food and drinks. I am guessing there was about 200 people there. After making a round, I see Alan and the group talking to someone so I am thinking it is someone famous so I come marching over. I did not hear the entire conversation, but somehow Alan thought it was one of the ladies from Church's that was at our plant earlier that day. She was maybe the same nationality, but did not look like her; however, when he said hello to her, she answered with such a confident and sincerely hello back, they both just assumed they knew each other when neither one had the slightest clue who the other was. Finally in the conversation, Michael leans in and says, "Oh you must be from Church's" and she respond, "No, I am a writer for the Chicago Tribune following Miss Kwan on her trip here in Russia." Alan and this lady still continue their conversation, neither one knowing how to end it since they both led on like they knew each other. It was rather comical. At this point, both Michael and I wanted to slip away, but stayed around for the entertainment value as they continued their conversation until finally they got ready to give the speeches.

We stayed and listen to Ambassador Burns, the President for the Soshi Olympic bid (I think), and Michelle Kwan. I was sort of embarrassed when Alan wanted to leave in the middle of the speeches, but since we were all riding back together, I did not have much choice. There was another half hour left in the reception so I do not think we missed a lot, but it was just the idea of leaving early and in the middle of the presentations after being invited. I guess next time, assuming I get invited, I will just ride by myself. So to answer my open question/comments, yes, I had a good time and want to go back to more of these type events.

I think it was worth it just to meet some of these people even if I never see them again. I would never have these opportunities if I were not here in Russia, so I am thankful for it and want to do it again, if it means putting on my white starched shirt...lol

And yes, Dasha did get a phone call the next day from some person with the tickets. What started out as 4 tickets, turned into 20 tickets and instead of one car, one mini-bus and three cars. I ended up backing out as I had to be in Moscow at 5:30 in the morning to meet with a customer and I knew I would be exhausted by the time I got home. I thought about running home and taking a nap, but I am glad I decided against that as we were stuck in Moscow for many more hours than I had planned and we did not get home until 4 in the afternoon. I also did not want my driver to have to work that many hours. I do not think he would have minded, but he would have worked close to 24 hours by the time he got our car home after the show and 14 hours was plenty in one day.

They all had a great time at the show and said Eugene's personality was much different (better) on the ice than in person. They said he is just a natural on the ice. I wish I could remember who he was from the Olympics, but now I can say I have met him.

Advertisement



25th June 2007

You probably dont remember me from other comments but I'm still here reading all the interesting things your doing. I'm so jealous and excited for you. You can never know a country until you know the people, and meeting a U.S. Ambassador is absolutely exciting. Thank you for sharing your adventure with me.
26th June 2007

Glad to Have You Along
Angie, glad to have you along and yes, I do remember your earlier replies. It is nice to have new friends join the adventure and you are welcome to post anytime you like.

Tot: 0.412s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb