You couldn't make it up.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Yaroslavl
October 13th 2005
Published: January 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Back to Kazan.Back to Kazan.Back to Kazan.

Another stunning piece of Kazan architecture.
My day started at 2 this morning, as Tamara Aleksandrovna charged into my room to call the militsiya as there were men on the roof above the supermarket. After scaring the life out of me and making me 'play dead' for ten minutes I thought she might creep out quietly and close the door. Which she did - after taking my jacket from the back of my chair and putting it in my cupboard.

Matthew brought in Yaroslavl's weekly newspaper today and showed us the front page. It reads "Grandson of a witch-doctor, Yaroslavl resident Kallimullah Kairulin: I know exactly where hell is". There's a two-page suppliment inside, which explains that it's in the centre of the sun and you can see people's faces in its' rays. He also talks about people from Mars and a secret civilisation between Neptune and Pluto where people get all their good ideas from.

I'm relieved we read it after he took us to Kazan. To think that we just thought he was very rude.

I went back to the factory this morning to get my washing done. I didn't receive so many dirty looks from the people on prospekt Oktyabrya, but I took the wrong street out of the building and was ten minutes late for lectures. Pobedy is parallel to Tolbukhina and Nekrasova is parallel to Svobody but I always forget. When I got to Viktor's class we were talking about marriage. After every wedding ceremony the couple go on a tour, drinking champagne and having their photo taken in front of the town's landmarks. Along with alcohol and cats, weddings are one of Russia's favourite passtimes.

I went to collect my clothes at lunch time - all washed, ironed and folded - then more grammar with Lena. I always leave her classes feeling that I've learned something.

Anya came for a lesson at 3. She read from her English textbook and I corrected her pronunciation, then asked her some questions about British food. The idea that 'dinner' and 'supper' are the same thing confused her. And how can 'tea' be both a meal and a drink? I asked her about Russian food, hoping she could help the English students with our cravings; unfortunately according to her I will have to go to Moscow to find a sandwich!

There's a read-through of 'Daughter's Lesson' at school later, then I shall go home to read the newspaper.

Advertisement



15th October 2005

Thanks
Hi, I am a second year at Exeter waiting for my turn to go to Russia for a year (argh what a thought!!), I just wanted to say that reading your journal has made me feel heaps better, so thanks, and I hope you have a fantastic year!!

Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb