Thanks mum.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Yaroslavl
September 7th 2005
Published: January 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ulitsa KirovaUlitsa KirovaUlitsa Kirova

The most relaxing place to spend an afternoon in Yaroslavl.
Four blinchiki for breakfast (Tamara Aleksandrovna already knows they're my favourite) then four hours of grammar with Olga and a different Lena. They are both middle aged ladies with brown hair. Russian grammar is hard enough in an English classroom but it is even more of a headache here.

Most of us went to an outside biker bar down the road for a drink after class. It is on a street near Nekrasova, with three tables and a menu of microwave mini kolbasa pizzas, sausages or soup. I went to the town centre - ulitsa Kirova - on my own afterwards to find my way around, and walked around the 'rynok' (market) to buy some t-shirts and a jumper. It's busy and colourful, with hundreds of stalls selling cheap products or clothes. An Azeri trader gave me a pair of shoes as a present. There didn't seem to be a reason, apart from he was a Manchester United fan and my mum is from Manchester! An afternoon in the market is great practice for my Russian; traders flock around you, desperate for you to buy something, but despite my fake snakeskin gift I may stay in my Burton's loafers for a bit longer.

As I was walking home I bumped into Sarah from my course on ulitsa Svobody, and we "went for coffee" Yaroslavl style, which is buying a bottle of water from a kiosk on the street and sitting in a trolleybus stop. It was good to get to know her better; we're planning a night out on saturday to celebrate our first week here.

'Shchi' (vegetable soup) for tea, then I walked to another internet club, which is only five minutes from Tolbukhina and on my way back from the language school. I have done my homework already so I will probably watch a Russian film on my laptop this evening.

Advertisement



8th September 2005

Hey from St P!
Hey John, glad to hear you seem to be having a great time! St P is really gud, havnt been to any cultural things yet, but plan to very soon! I hope you have a gud weekend! xx

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb