Masterchef.


Advertisement
Russia's flag
Europe » Russia » Centre » Tver
February 26th 2006
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The first time I have ever been to lessons on a sunday. Or done any work on a sunday, for that matter.

Zhanna taught us literature in the first para. We read a passage from Stantsionnyi Smotritel' by Aleksandr Pushkin and discussed it. The lessons have been very disorganised so far but reading made me concentrate, which put me a bit more at ease. In the break there was just time for a cup of coffee from upstairs, then I had to hurry down for our writing class. We spoke about different types of dictionary then took one each from a pile and gave a small presentation about it. I flicked through an encyclopaedia of mythology, then spoke for about five minutes about the ancient Egyptian, Greek and African heroes I had read about.

The ice hockey final - Finland against Sweden - clashed with the girls' tickets to a concert, so they dashed in and out of the lounge all afternoon between choosing clothes and putting on their make-up. Yulia wriggling in her seat made it impossible for Christa to do her hair. In the end Finland lost 3-2, which meant that everyone went in a bad mood. I'm sure I wouldn't have spent so much time with the other people on the corridor if it wasn't for the tournament!

I bought a lasagne from the supermarket for dinner, and only realised when I got home that the cooking instructions weren't in Russian. By the time it was ready I was almost too tired to eat it, let alone imagine what words might mean in Czech. I fell asleep at about 11.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.2047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb