Ministry focus


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania
July 25th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

When we started with the Spa ministry, I really struggled with it. I have a background in Mary Kay so I have no trouble at all with the spa aspect, in fact it did seem like a perfect fit. The trouble that I had was that I saw the people who live without heat in an area that reaches 10 below and families sending one parent away to find work while the other stays behind with the kids. Painting nails seemed shallow and pointless in the face of the poverty here. I felt more useful when we were picking up trash in the streets. But I came here willing to do whatever asked, so here I am.
What I learned was that this ministry touches the women and girls here on different levels. The women lead a harsh and difficult life, they need that time of pampering and rest. Most of them cannot afford a professional manicure so this is a rare treat. The girls crave the attention, the touch, the feeling of being pretty. Some of them would run out the door after a manicure and scrape off the polish, just to run back in for another manicure. It also opens the door to hearing the gospel. As we work, these ladies are able to hear about the beauty inside as well as outside.
Ruth


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb