Craiova - Day 2


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Oltenia » Dolj » Craiova
April 27th 2010
Published: April 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

breakfastbreakfastbreakfast

The breakfast was quite serviceable at the hotel, but could have been hotter. At least they had hot cocoa to put in my coffee.
My morning began with the announcement that, in honor of my first visit to Craiova, the city was shutting off the water supply for the next 24 hours. After confirming that was, in fact, the case, the only option was to grin and bare it and help myself to a quite nice breakfast, as provided by the Europa Hotel.

G. and a friend fetched me at about 11 and we proceeded on another walking tour, as she attempted to cement the spacial references of Craiova in my brain. I finally got my first covrigi of the trip. We had lunch in an autoservire (cafeteria), serving Romanian food and cracked wise among the three of us. We separated so he could go to work and G. had to see her sister for a while.

After a bit of a nap G. and I met up with an artist friend of hers - Mircea: http://mirceacirtog.blogspot.com - and we went to one fo the events of the local annual Shakespeare Festival. I didn't quite get the connection between Mihai Topescu's "Hamlet and the Lights of Glass" and Shakespeare, but the glass sculptures themselves were pretty cool and the cakes at the reception were yummy.

Otylia showed up from work and the four of us had a drink and chitty-chatted away. We then strolled of looking here and there, finally settling in for pizza and beer at Restaurant Galaxy - http://www.restaurantgalaxy.ro - and then after I returned to the hotel I soon discovered the water had been turned on.

Advertisement



28th April 2010

don't miss the park!
Be sure that they take you to the park in Craiova -- its the best thing there! It has a natural lake and Romanians even jog around it! The little zoo next door might seem a little cramped, but their lions are amazingly prolific! When I was there they ran horses by outside the lions dens, and the adrenaline was flowing, it was unbelievable. Lots of baby lions.
1st May 2010

Pizza at Galaxy?
How come you had pizza over there? I looked at the menu on line and my mouth is still watering...I'm sure their pizza is great but there were sooo many yuummy romanian dishes over there...

Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb