Chisinau - Galati


Advertisement
Romania's flag
Europe » Romania » Moldova » Galati » Galati
May 18th 2010
Published: May 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Chisinau was a series of missed connections with acquaintances, rain and signs in a funny alphabet. It was not really depressing, more like just disappointing. In fact, I delayed departure for a full day for an acquaintance that never showed up. And when I checked on outbound buses and trains to Galati there were only evening departures shown. Knowiong how many independent companies operate I doubted that was true and so I went to the Gara de Sud bus station. Much to my dismay there was indeed only one bus per day. I sat and contemplated an 8 hour wait babysitting my baggage (nobody checks baggage anymore) and rationing my Moldovan Lei so I am not stuck with them. The food on offer was far from inviting until I found a stand offering a cheap little hotdog in a croissant that was actually quite tasty. As I sat I perused the signs on departing buses and checking my map. I saw a bus to Bucuresti leaving at 11 that I could catch to Tecuci and hitchhike from there to Galati. If I waited for the proper bus I wouldn't arrive until after midnight and I dreaded having my friends there wait for me that late. None of them are night people.

So I decided to use this alternative and chance hitchhiking the second portion. The driver stuck me for the full fare all the way to Bucuresti, even though I was only going half the distance, but since I would have just burned-off the money anyway I just accepted it. They border crossing was notable only in that most of the guards on both sides were female. The difference was that the Moldovan guards were all young and hot and the Romanian guards were not so much. :-P The driver dropped me off in the middle of Tecuci, as agreed, and pointed me to the bus station and said there were numerous buses to Galati all day long and I wouldn't have to hitch. As I made my way there and asked for directions a local guy actually walked me the whole way because it was not quite a straight shot. I found a bus almost immediately and was soon whisked to my destination and the waiting arms of my friends. Aurielia and Catalin were quite welcoming and I met their 2 year old daughter, Maria, who was a little cutie. After stuffing my belly and taking me on a shopping trip to the grocery store with them they deposited me with Tina and her mom and brother, who were my gracious hosts.

As I prepared for bed I noted that I couldn't find my cash card. I thought I left it in the machine near the supermarket. That is a tragedy that is fixable, but only with a lot of trouble and expense, but luckily I have an amount of cash on hand that will hold me a week or so because there won't be any hotel expenses here or in Focsani. It was midnight and my bank was still open, because of the 8 hour time difference, so I ripped an desperate e-mail to the officer I had my pre-trip meeting with. I noted my last several withdrawals and told her to cancel my card and start the procedures to get a new one to me in Romania. However, a couple hours later I found it and rushed a message to her to leave the freaking card alone and not to cancel it. Unfortunately, I have had no confirmation of the receipt of either message.

Advertisement



22nd May 2010

Tecuci
Hi! Too bad you didn't get to see the beautiful park in Tecuci. Besides the Cathedral, it houses exotic birds, several fountains and gorgeous roses.

Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb