Maria Maria! (Day 15)


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Northern » Porto
May 25th 2010
Published: May 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today is really just a travel day so I do not have too much to write about. Fortunately for all my avid readers out there I am currently on a 2.5 hour flight from London Stansted to Porto, Northern Portugal. Actually just crossing the English Channel now and all I can think about is Band of Brothers. I have to say Stansted is a peculiar airport. Most of the flights in and out of there are on budget airlines like RyanAir and easyJet. This means you check-in with no particular gate to go to. So you and all the other travelers just sit around in groups looking up at the ETA boards waiting for your gate to be put up on the big screen. Then when one is finally put up all the people on that flight hurriedly rush to their gate like a stampede. It is pretty entertaining to watch, as long as you are not one of the unlucky ones to get caught in the way.

So far Scotland has been the highlight of my trip. I love the pride the people have in their country and how they still view it as their country, not a part of England and Britain, plus I love my new favorite soda, Irn-Bru, a kinda Scotish cream soda. Always great to hang out with locals and see what they like to do and talk to them bout Scotland/USA and all. In some ways Ireland is like a poor mans Scotland. Just not as pretty and a little more drab. Plus everyone says that the Irish are always drunk and friendly but you can really say the same about the Scots. This is not an attack on Ireland in anyway mind you. Side note: the haggis from last night was fantastic. Would eat it again in a heartbeat.

Anyways, Maria (the best couchsurfer ever) and her friend Alberto met me at the Porto Airport with a sign like a limo driver haha. I felt so important. Alberto, 27 who just got his license drove us the 20 minutes or so to their place with no issues (props Alberto!) I am being pampered here like a hotel. I almost feel bad. Maria prepared a local fish dish for all of us for a late dinner and I got my first shot at the Port Wine that is so common here and now famous around the world. Just a fantastic start to my trip to Portugal. Feel very at home here and might have to stay longer than expected. Super Bock time, ciao.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb