The art of day-trip, Lisbon 2023, part 2...


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Madeira
October 12th 2023
Published: October 21st 2023
Edit Blog Post

After flying Brussels Airlines from Kinshasa to London via Brussels, I'm on the next leg, on TAP Portugal with a super early flight first to Lisbon.

I've read and heard not very good things about TAP lately. After 4 flights, I can claim I'm lucky with all my bags with me, and no big delays to suffer! The first flight was at 6am in Heathrow. I decide to arrive at 4.15am for the check-in....good point as the security is only opening at 4.30am! The Lufthansa lounge was supposed to open at 5am....but it never opened with a sign for "hygiene reasons"! Well, at least I cannot blame TAP about it. My layover was 24 hours and 50 minutes, so they would not check my bags all the way to the final destination.

Flight was smooth in an exit row seat, beside that we are in Europe, so no complimentary service and pretty tough seats! I would never envy road-warriors in Europe! I got my bags and went back straight to check-in those to avoid to have to take them to town.

7.1 euros will get you a 24 hours Lisbon public transport pass. The card will get you on busses, the metro, trams, ascensor/funiculars and lift...super nice deal! I tried to check in my hotel at 11am but failed! Point to note, avoid the Moxy Marriott City Hotel!

Lisbon weather was warm and sunny...and tourists were all around! The city is like Hong Kong, a great way to enjoy the place is to hop on and off different styles of transportations...just fun, even without a set plan or a map!

Lisbon has three funiculars. I ride one but saw the two others. True fun experience! I did also the Elevador de Santa Justa. On my last visit the lift was under renovation. Today it was open with a good 30 minutes queue, but what a place!

My last visit I entered the Tower of Belem, but not the Monastery of the Jeronimos. As I have just few hours, the plan is reversed today! So another queue to buy the ticket for the Monastery. There are two parts to visit, the Chruch, plus the stunning cloister! What a beautiful place!



So first the visit of Monastery, second a little walk around the Tower....those places are so magic! End of a long day was getting very close! Time to ride few busses to go back to my little hotel room! I had a nice local lunch, but the dinner would be a relax little picnic in my little hotel room...great ham, anchovies, local bread and some decent rose wine...perfect for an early night cap!



I'm lucky, my next flight is only short of 4 hours and is leaving Lisbon at a decent 9.30am. By 7am I'm out of the hotel, breakfast in the lounge...and on my way!



I love Lisbon, I cannot say the same about TAP Portugal, but at least this time it went smoothly for me. Fun, I'm back flying them for 2 more segments before the end of 2023! Next blog, a new country, a new discovery for me...with even few dives!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb