Today was a fairy tale,


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisbon & Tagus Valley » Sintra
June 3rd 2013
Published: June 4th 2013
Edit Blog Post


Exploring the Moor's Castle.
I woke up this morning sweating, with an awful headache. I chugged down some water and took a nice, cold shower. It was super refreshing and helped. I got ready for the day, trying to be really quiet because some people were still sleeping. What I have found out it that when I try to be really quiet, I end up being super loud. After I finished waking up everyone in the room, I made my way to breakfast. It was my first real breakfast while I have been traveling because it was included with my room price. I decided to go to Sintra today, which is about 30 minutes away from Lisbon. So I got my things and headed towards the direction I thought the train station was in. After asking for help, I found the train station, bought my ticket, and made my way to Sintra. Once I got there, I didn’t know where to begin. I grabbed a map, looked at the sign that said palace, and headed in that direction. After a little walk uphill, I found the palace of Sintra. I bought a grouped ticket for the palace of Sintra, Pena, and the Moor’s castle, and

Inside the palace of Sintra.
headed inside. It was very pretty, but there were a lot of group tours in the way. I wasn’t extremely excited with the palace, and hoped for more. I decided to head up the mountain, and discover the Moor’s castle. I knew I wasn’t going to walk all the way up there, so I took a bus. The bus ended up being 5 euros, so I only road it that one time. I got off at the bus station and climbed up to the entrance. When I got inside, I explored around, walking on top of the fort, and seeing the world from an eagle’s eye. The view was breathtaking. You could see the beautiful colors of the city, and the mountains making their way down to the ocean. I have no clue how they built that fort on top of the mountain, but they definitely could defend it from hundreds of miles away. After I pretended to be a princess for a little bit, I walked over to the next mountain to see the Palace of Pena. After ions of climbing, I finally made it to the top of the mountain. The palace was spectacular. Some parts were hard

The Moor's Castle from Palace of Pena mountain.
to see do to the fact that they are in the process of renovating it, but it was still pretty grand. The queen not only had her own bedroom, but her own dressing room, reading room, office, and terrace looking out over the world. If only I was a queen. I did imagine I was as I walked throughout the castle. To wake up every morning and have a view like that would be absolutely wonderful. When I was done roaming around the palace, I said goodbye to my future home and walked down the mountain. I was not willing to pay 5 euros, so I walked down the mountain for about 5 kilometers, or three miles. Once I reached the town, I decided that I needed to head back to Lisbon. I stopped to get some ice cream first, eating it while looking out at another amazing view. When I was done, I started to walk back down to the bus station. I was stopped by this guy asking if I spoke English and if I could give him some money. I told him no, but he started to talk to me. He was wondering why I would come

The Palace of Pena.
to the “crap of Europe”. I quickly pointed out how all he had to do was step outside his door and he would see two beautiful castles from the 8th century. I have to fly half way across the world to see history, when all he is has to do is step outside and see what he is learning about. How amazing is that? He said I had a good point and asked if I would like to go get coffee with him. I kindly declined telling him I needed to get back early without pointing out the fact that he had just asked me for money, but suddenly had some to get coffee. I continued to make my way further down the road until I reached the train station. Luckily, I had enough time to get on the train that was about to leave. Once I got back into Lisbon, I went to the hostel. My couple roommates left earlier this morning but the girl from Amsterdam is here for her last night. We decided to go get dinner again, somewhere way cheaper than last time. We ended up sitting at this nice restaurant with a great view of

Inside the Palace of Sintra tower. Gold ceiling and hand painted porcelain tile walls.
the castle in Lisbon. I ordered a steak with French fries. It tasted pretty good. We talked over dinner about our countries, traveling, and jobs. It was pretty nice to just relax and learn about someone new. We left dinner quite early because she has to be up in the morning to catch her flight. I wished her safe travels, and went to get ready to go to sleep. I walked into the bathroom to find a grown woman standing there naked. I didn’t know what to do, so I looked down and walked into a stall. I waited, then came out. She again was there, feeling pretty confident, flaunting her stuff while putting lotion all over her body. It is a female only bathroom, but I was still very surprised. She was standing in front of the sink/mirror, so I had to stand next to her while I washed my hands. Talk about awkward. But hey, they are all stories to tell, right? And I’d say today was a fairy tale.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Moor's castle.


The Palace of Sintra from way up.


I absolutely loved this castle.


Inside of Palace of Pena, queen's chair.


4th June 2013

FAIRY TALE PRINCESS ON A FAIRY TALE DREAM.....
YOU PAINT SUCH LOVELY PICTURES WITH YOUR DESCRIPTIVE WORDS. I WISH FOR YOU FAIRY WINGS SO THAT YOU COULD SOAR ABOVE THE GROUND. YOUR SHOES MUST BE WORN OUT AND YOUR FEET WEARY. BUT YOUR WRITING IS A THING OF MAGIC. HOW CAN YOU REMEMBER SO MANY THINGS. U NEVER KNEW YOU WERE FILLED WITH SUCH ADVENTURE. AND YOUR BRAVADA!!! THE MAN YOU TRIED TO TEMPT YOU WITH HIS WINE AND THE YOUNG MAN WHO WANTED YOUR MONEY??? I AM SO GLAD THEY WERE NO MATCH FOR YOUR SMART AND SAVVY BRAIN. AGAIN, PLEASE BE SAFE AND STAY WELL, PRETTY GIRL. GOD BLESS...MRS. LINDA
7th June 2013

Mrs. Linda, You make me smile. I am so glad to have YOU in my life! I am also glad to say that I have been able to do all of this because of you! I'm really glad that you are taking this adventure with me, even if you aren't actually here!
8th June 2013

HURRAY!!!
I WAS NOT CERTAIN THAT I WOULD BE SUCCESSFUL IN REPLYING TO YOUR BEAUTIFUL "JOURNAL" ENTRIES. AT LEAST, I HOPE THAT YOU COMPILE ALL YOUR WRITING INTO SOMETHING THAT OTHER "TREKKIES" CAN BOTH READ AND ENJOY WHILE REAPING COURAGE, HOPE, AND STRENGTH FOR EACH DAY OF THEIR TRAVELS. YOU HAVE GIVEN ME AN ULTRA EXCITING WEEK. SUCH HIGHS FROM YOUR DESCRIPTIVE ENTRIES. PRETTY GIRL, YOU ROCK!!!

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0787s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb