Day 12


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisboa » Almada
June 28th 2011
Published: July 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, something awful happened. Something that would make every woman gasp in shock and quiver with fear. Yes, I lost my concealer.

Normally, I would make do with an extra layer of make-up or a giant pair of sunglasses, but when you're backpacking through Europe, every hour of lost sleep shows up under your eyes. In a nutshell, I look like a swamp monster. Literally.

Coming to terms with the loss of my concealer required each stage of the grief cycle. First; shock and denial, then anger. I threw a tantrum even my 2 year-old self would be proud of. I was like a madwoman, throwing things in the air and overturning pillows and mattresses, desperately searching for that beloved cream that would make me look more like a young lady and less like Shrek's mistress.

After bargaining ("Take the mascara, take the eyeliner, please God just give me my concealer!") and depression (James Blunt's "Goodbye my Lover" played on my iPod on repeat), came acceptance. The concealer was gone. It wasn't coming back. It was time to face life without it.

And so I did. I hit the streets of Lisbon with my under-eye bags for the world to see. I felt self-conscious and paranoid, but I also felt liberated. As I took the focus off myself for a while, I started noticing how beautiful this city was, and how natural the locals looked. Portuguese women were walking around with their hair flowing wildly, and their under-eye bags un-concealed and they looked incredible.

It made me realize how ridiculous I was for relying on a tiny pot of flesh-colored goo to feel confident and socially acceptable. Who cares if I look a little tired in photos? Or if gorgeous European men scream and run in fear? I was in one of the most beautiful countries in the world and I almost let myself ruin the experience because I lost a worthless piece of make-up!

I ended up finding the concealer a couple of days later, stuffed in the bottom of my bag (typical!). I still wear it from time to time, but I know the universe was sending me a message and I've got it loud and clear.

"Get over yourself and look around, dumb arse!".

Will do!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb