Lagos is Loose


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Lagos
August 25th 2011
Published: September 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Lagos is loose
As an Aussie told me earlier in my trip, I could not pass up Lagos because it is loose. There must be a travel show in Australia that spits out this advice because the entire city is Australian with a kiwi or 2 thrown in. I don’t think I need to go to Australia anymore because I have already been there in southern Portugal.
The Aussie was right, Lagos was loose- it was a great time. It was a small fishing town with great beaches and a really fun bar and club scene. It reminded me a lot of cabo san lucas minus the large resorts, perhaps Cabo in the 1970’s before anyone ever went on a “90 minute” time share presentation.
I had a nice little routine in Lagos. Go to the beach until about 8pm only leaving for a lunch break. Get back, shower grab a few drinks amongst friends at the hostel and head out to three monkeys for our first bar around midnight then wherever the wind and drinks took me. Somehow I wake up to breakfast cooking and pretend to be Bill Murry in groundhog day only to do it all over again. I left lagos a darker skinned version of myself, and more relaxed.
I broke up my routine once with a sea kayaking tour into some caves and isolated beaches. Well worth it. At some points we were in a small caves and the sun was peaking up from underneath the water because there were some openings down under. For the day I was surrounded by clear water, blowholes, grottoes reminiscent of the playboy mansion and a nude beach to top it off…. It was a good time.
I was planning on being in Lagos for 2 nights, but it turned into 3 but I did not extend it to 4 nights because I had to get to Valencia soon for la Tomatina. I could have stayed 1 more night in Lagos but I only did 3 because I truly did not know what day it was and realized I was off by a day when getting to the bus station. I should have brought both a calendar and an alarm clock with me on this trip- oh well. I left Lagos in the afternoon on a bus to Sevilla Spain.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb