Martins monthly update


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Lagos
December 5th 2008
Published: December 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Christmas is coming


As I write this Donna is annoying me by hanging dangly Christmas decorations above my head. She could seriously find herself part of a dangly decoration herself if she carries on.
We have now arrived in Portugal at our Christmas site. It is called Turiscampo, and is near Praia De Luz where Madeleine Mc Cann went missing. Spain (like my ability to learn its language) has been and gone.
The Spanish are very busy building roads and rail links at the moment which tends to blight the scenery somewhat. The toll roads are generally in pristine condition and unused, whilst the A roads are always busy.
It was a bit of a whistle-stop tour of Spain really. As it got colder we decided to head further south chasing the elusive sun (yes Gaz. I got it right this time).
The TV has now gone the same way as my conversational Spanish and has petered out. No more Match of the day, Channel 4 racing or X Factor for Banno.
We arrived at our new home yesterday (4th) and were welcomed by lots of friendly people offering scones, curries, parties and the use of a massive satellite dish.
My new neighbour Chris invited me to play golf. We went this morning. It was expensive to play but the course was first class and we had it all to ourselves. I played to my usual poor standard, but didn’t lose a ball. I knew that it was worth taking the clubs 4,500 miles!!!
Donna has now decorated a giant pine cone with tinsel and a glass bauble. I think that after living in a box with me for 3 months she has finally lost it!
She is now wrapping tinsel around a coat hanger like a Blue Peter presenter.
We will be receiving Tom, Chris and Emily next week as Christmas guests. I hope the weather stays warm for them.
A Merry Christmas to everyone. Have a great time. I hope that Santa brings you lots of nice new toys.
We don’t have a clue what Christmas will be like here, but I am sure that like the last 3 months it will be different.

Lots of love
Martin and Donna


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb