Tales of a Portuguese Serenade


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Faro
April 15th 2007
Published: April 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On the bus from Seville to Faro, Jenny turned to me and said, "Sudie - why are we going to Faro?" "I don't know," I said. "Emily read a travelblog about it." Thus we ended up in Faro.

Quite frankly, I'm still not sure why we made such a stop. The town was nice, yes . . . and it had a beach . . . about 20 minutes by bus from our hostel. But really there was nothing special about Faro. I guess I need to track down this travelblog Emily read and see what sounded so tempting.

There is one thing that made Faro absolutely, 100 percent, hands-down worth the one night stop. Apparently there had been some sort of national band competition at the same time we were there. I have no idea about details, but when we stepped out our door on the way to breakfast we received the most amazing (and random) serenade from five college guys - one of whom was wearing an inflatable life vest. Apparently they thought we were chilly, because they covered the three of us with a cape before they would sing. The serenade, unfortunately, didn't last long since the hostel lady decided 8 am was too early to be singing in the hallway. All I know is that if I'm single in 15 years, I'm moving to Portugal.





Advertisement



13th July 2007

There was a reason we went there, I swear (the travel blog may have been a little misleading though....). We still had fun either way.

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb