Arrival to the Algarve District, Southern Coast of Portugal


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Algarve » Albufeira
November 15th 2021
Published: November 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

More than 2 weeks after my arrival, initially as a tourist (Residency Visa in process), I am starting this blog to help track my journey. My goal is to find an area I like well enough to make my home base to live or take other new adventures into Europe and perhaps Morocco.

I left Sarasota on October 29, arrived October 30 in Faro the largest city in the Algarve District which is the entire southern coast. A travel note for any future visitors: Faro may be cheaper to fly into than Lisbon plus you either take a bus, train or car which is at least 3 1/2 hours best case plus all the time/$$ to get started. A mini-van shuttle is available (airport to nearest hotel only) for $14 Euros to Albufeira via "Best4U" orange booth as you exit the Faro airport (Taxi $65 Euros) by the way Euros in Portuguese pronounced "A-oo-rosh" with a very soft "r" or just speak English and they understand.

So my first task was to walk Albufeira and understand where I was staying until December 15, 2021. No longer just nice air BnB pics and online travel info from travel advisor. I was actually here in Portugal for the first time.I picked it as it was recommended by a friend who had visited and it seemed to me a central location to start my search for a long term base camp. I nailed the location on the Air BnB, after studying Google maps. It's near local bus line with direct shot to the terminal, 30 m away a small market, a pharmacy and near buses and a large Supermarket a few min walk.

Only 4-5 minutes walk downhill to the cliffs overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, beach and the start of the Centro; down the outdoor escalators to the beach and Old Town level. See Pictures.

Starting as a village more than 1000 years old Christians conquered it in 1250 it became a town officially in 1504.

So now its tourist town increasing from 45000 to 300,000 during summer season!

Next Post on day 5 or 6 after getting settled and walking locally I bought a Hop on Hop off 3 day bus ticket to our the region east from Albufeira to Praia(Beach) Falasia and Vilamoura to the east day 1-2 and then to the West Albufeira to Salgados Beach and various small towns day 3.

Last picture is a map pointing to a few places


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb