I did not buy the dog a beer and I did not rent it shoes


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Pomerania » Tczew
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Finally, I found a computer where I can get to update this. The computers in our dorm block the website. I will start using the computers in our lab to post. Unfortuantely, no pictures since I still can't find a computer with a usb.

It has been a lot of fun so far. During the day we get to hang out with the students. They just have so many questions about Americans. Sometimes it's funny, like trying to teach baseball. They did not really understand the rules about how to run the bases or where to throw the ball when you're in the field. And I had never realized how hard it is to teach something that to me is just understood to someone who has never tryed to play. Most of the students are really athletic though (ironic that I'm helping to teach a sport then) and are picking up baseball pretty quickly.

The classes that I am teaching are going well. In class, they are just like american HS students. They would rather be outside than in the class. But for the most part, they have been active. A few have been really shy about speaking up because their english is not as great as the others.

The american staff is being taken to Gdansk this afternoon after lunch. This is the city where WWII started when Germany first bombarded Poland. It sounds like a nice city and am excited to have the whole afternoon for us to walk around and enjoy ourselves. There are enough people in the group who speak Polish that we can usually have someone to help us translate when we are in a city or a town.

I miss everyone a lot! Now that I know there is a computer here that I can update, I will be better about posting.

Advertisement



3rd July 2008

For shame
Geez, Dan, what did you do? Bowl the poor dog? Am glad you finally updated on here. I was getting very bored just looking at the map with the dot. Was wondering if we would have to use Google to see if we could actually spot you. That's okay. I'll just adopt Tim and call him Dan while you're gone. Except Tim gets embarassed if I slip and use a bad word although he doesn't hesitate if I know embarassing stories about him. You know, on second though, nope - not adopting Tim. I'll just have to do without either of you. Do miss you though, Dan. Tim, miss you too. Don't be a stranger. I have to have to drag my poor dogs to your Dad to hear what's going on.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb