Krakow, Poland


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
September 20th 2011
Published: November 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Berlin, Germany to Krakow, Poland


Wow...almost an eleven hour train ride. All of my first day in Krakow was gone. I was a little nervous, because it was dark, and my directions to my hostel even stated that it was tricky to find it. Lucky for me, I had little trouble getting out of the train station, but now I had to navigate the streets in the dark. I must say I was a little scared, but after a few wrong turns up wrong streets, I trusted a local (who really could not speak English, only pointed) directions. I found my hostel, and I was relieved. When I got to the reception desk, the girl was very nice and friendly, and she gave me a good map and good tips. I appreciated this. I also purchased my ticket to tour Auschwitz concentration camp from her, and she told me the meeting point. After stowing my luggage and taking a much needed shower, I decided I wanted to find this meeting point where I would know where to go. I walked around, found the meeting point, and then back to my hostel for some shut eye.
I awake the following morning with anticipation and excitement. I ate breakfast, made me two sandwich's for the day (stored in my gallon size bag I brought), and decided it was time to go. I had to check out of my hostel, for I only booked the one night. They were very gracious and let me store my luggage there for the entire day. I was thankful, for I did not want to lug around that big backpack all day. Anyway, during breakfast, I meet two girls that were also going to Auschwitz. Their names were Melissa and Kate from Australia and New Zealand respectively. We walked together to the meeting point, and when it was time to go, we boarded the little over an hour bus ride. During the ride, a video was shown of the liberation of the camp. It was pretty moving. Finally, after much anticipation, I was at a place where I have wanted to visit for quite some time; Auschwitz-the Nazi concentration camp.
I can’t really write much here. Not that there is nothing to write about, but words can’t express what you see and feel when you tour this sight. I can’t even imagine how these individuals felt and what they went through. This was probably one of the most inhumane acts that you could imagine. Auschwitz had display after display of personal belongings of these people that were told to pack up everything when they were brought to this awful place. There were rooms of luggage (with names and address on them still), shoes of all sizes and shapes, pots, pans, hairbrushes, shoe polish, toothbrushes, and the most stunning of all; a huge half room display of human hair. The people would be gassed, and then when they died, the nazi’s cut off their hair and would use this to make things with. Inhumane!! The crematoriums were something to see. It is hard for me to put into words the feelings felt when gazing at these. Two of the crematoriums were destroyed by the Nazis trying to cover up their crimes, and the site was left as it was when they blew it up. Still an eerie feeling just being there. I could go on and on about this place, but I do not feel it is expedient.
I board the bus back to Krakow, and I was thankful to have the freedom to come and go as I pleased and not be just a number like those prisoners were. Once back at Krakow, I decided to take a walking tour. The tour guide (Josef if I remember correctly) was a Pole and he was both knowledgeable and funny. He took us all around historic Krakow, into the Jewish section of town, and the tour ended at Oskar Schindler’s factory. Schindler is most famous and credited for saving over 1,100 Jews during the Holocaust by employing them in his factories. The movie Schindler’s list was made after him. When I originally wanted to come to Krakow, it was because it was near Auschwitz. After touring and sightseeing, I must say that Krakow is a beautiful city, and I would truly entertain coming back to visit and spending more time getting to know the city. Time to go back to the hostel to get my luggage. I have an overnight train to Prague to catch, and I want to assure that I have plenty of time.



Additional photos below
Photos: 250, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb