Poland


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
July 23rd 2010
Published: July 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi,
my name is Vinkor, I am italian and my english is poor. Anyway I hope you will understand my stories about my travels.
I have just come back from Poland, it has been a holiday of 10 days and I have visited Krakow, Wroclaw, Auschwitz and Zakopane.
I enjoyed this travel a lot and saw many beautiful things, met a lot of people and enrich my culture.
Krakow is so beautiful, one of the best that I have ever seen. It is so interesting and relaxant, so green and well organized.
Rynek, the Market Square is considered the largest and most beautiful square in Europe. You can admire many classic palaces, a big church with two towers, the clothes building in the middle, many horse-carts for tours and all around bars and restaurants.
Then the Wowel, that is the castle and cathedral plus other buildings all on a hill just a little out of the centre while it is surrounded by the Vistola river, green yards and Kazimiers, the Jewish part with old synagogues, pubs, restaurants, bars that are full of tourists or locals in the evening. The historic centre is surrounded by a green circular park and all the krakowian use to walk a lot passing this natural space when they move from one part to the other of the city.

I made some excursions from Krakow to
- Wielizcka - the salt mine older 700 years, about 300 meters deep and with 300 km of galleries. Everything inside is made of salt, even a cathedral, the steps, the statues, the bass-reliefs.

- Auschwitz, the tragic camp where about 1,5 million of jewish people were killed with gas
- Schindler factory where thousand of Jewish people were employed to produce dishes and saved their life as per the Steven Spielberg movie "Schindler's list"
- Zakopane, a nice town among the Tatra mountains in a green and nice valley
- Wroclaw, a slesian city, 250 km north of Krakow, the polish Venice with Oder river, a lot of channels and a big university

at the end I flew to Berlin for further 5 days of vacation



Additional photos below
Photos: 300, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb