Poland, Day One


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
March 28th 2008
Published: April 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On Friday, March 28th, 2008, I began my exploration of Poland.

My first stop was Auschwitz and Auschwitz - Birkenau. As I have said, I don't wish to talk about it because it was terrible to even visit. Please do not think me crass or heartless if I move quickly from it in conversation. I must say, however, how confused I felt about how to approach the weekend. How could I honor what I had seen? Should I even go out with other people for drinks or dinner? Would it be wrong to continue to do tourist things the rest of the weekend?

I really struggled with these things but I felt a peculiar notion that the best way I could show my honor and respect to people who had died was very simply to live. I will never forget the inhumanity and degradation that I saw. I know that. I felt that being alone or mourning silently would do very little other than to demoralize me against the good I have found in life. I hope you do not think that I have just been very silly or frivolous after such a terrible visit. If I have, it is purposeful, to keep in my mind a hunger for life and happiness. I continued with the plans we had been given for other things and enjoyed them, perhaps more deeply, because I understand the transitory nature of it all.


We arrived at our hostel (The Lemon Hostel) in the early evening. I was on floor "papaya." Other friends were on "kiwi." It is hard not to at least smile when your friends shout that "nope, one more floor and THEN we will be at 'papaya'." We all had a few minutes to collect ourselves, our thoughts, and freshen up. I joined a group of people going out for dinner. My Dutch friend, Jennie, made sure that I came so I would eat and not sit alone in our room. She really looked after me this trip and has continued to do so. She is wonderful. We wandered the city a bit (all the roads essentially lead back to the center... kind of like Atlanta) until we found a restaurant. Well, I wasn't terribly excited about the restaurant, but we went in anyway. It was the Polish equivalent of "Hooters" (called "Rooster) and made me laugh for its sheer absurdity. The food wasn't terrible and the company was quite good, so I didn't mind too much. If you come to Poland, however, be sure to have small cash ready to pay. Our waitress was unwilling or unable to break large notes and split the bill.

After our dinner, several of our party left and the rest of us went (after MUCH indecision) to a convenience store to buy a few a few beers and chocolate. I think chocolate is at least a good attempt to soothe an anxious heart. We brought our loot back to the hostel and just talked for an hour or so, which was nice. We all sort of dropped off around midnight or so. It had been, to say the least, a long day, emotionally and physically.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb