Back as a tourist


Advertisement
Poland's flag
Europe » Poland » Lesser Poland » Kraków
December 19th 2006
Published: December 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

This trip is full of firsts. This time, the first time I’ve happily given up the option of a nice soft bed in favour of a night on the airport floor. My flight back to Krakow left Glasgow before the first train out of the city started, the lady at the station actually recommended that I spend the night at the airport! Who am I to argue.. given the crazy UK prices I was kind of stoked to have an excuse to have a free night.

Krakow is the tourist capital of southern Poland. Travelling to the UK gave me the perfect opportunity to explore this corner of the country - flights to and from are cheap and regular, and the rail link back to Wroclaw is easy, though 4h long :/

I had a few days in the city both before, and after the UK. It’s really nice, it’s nestled at the foothills of the Tatra Mountains that form the Poland-Slovakia border. Although Auschwitz is very close, most the buildings escaped the war unscathed.. the town centre is really pretty. Hmm... “nice, “pretty”, you may be surprised to hear my first stay here degenerated into a touristy sightseeing extravaganza.. my second stay was boosted by Asia coming to escape the reality of a working world, making her a first-time tourist in her own country 😊 The photos speak for themselves..

Speaking of "speaking".. Polish is a terrible language to try to learn.. I found Russian easier! It’s based on the Latin alphabet which may seem like an advantage, but many letters sound distinctly different and they use cz, sz, ci, dz & w’s a lot.. to me they all sound the same - like the ch in “chook” with or without a bit of spray :/ a taster:

Polish: ----- Pronunciation:
dziewczyna ----- dzhehfchinawng
zarezerwowaliśmy ----- zahrehzehvovahleesymi
chciałbym ----- htshahw bim

Once again, my valiant efforts to form simple words have been met with much mirth 😊 My one respite from being the centre of any english conversation was a much anticipated trip to an english movie (with subtitles of course). Attempts to translate the title on the poster for me fell on deaf ears - truth be told, I was so happy with the thought of being able to sit down, relax, and just listen for a few hours I didn’t really care what
ClocktowerClocktowerClocktower

Krakow square again, on dusk
the movie was... that was until it started, the first line “In sooth, I know not why I am so sad” - my jaw dropped and the rubbery theatre popcorn tumbled onto my lap as my mind struggled to comprehend what was happening.. “two hours of this!?..” I thought! It was the Merchant of Venice, I haven’t heard Shakespeare since school and it confounded me even then - with the cheat notes!

Not wanting to concede that I couldn’t understand english either, I was in for the long haul... Maybe it was the movie, my state of mind, or merely the fact that I wasn’t at school anymore.. but it was brilliant 😊 It’s not often you sit in a movie theatre full of laughter and applause (albeit occasionally mistimed as the subtitles appeared) for two hours.. the first time I’ve really, truly enjoyed Shakespeare! (aside from a Midsummer’s Nights Dream of course Andy 😊 )



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Kosciuszki (Koziosco in Aussie) Hill.Kosciuszki (Koziosco in Aussie) Hill.
Kosciuszki (Koziosco in Aussie) Hill.

The story goes that when Kosciuszki, the great general died, people came from all over Poland and added a handful of earth to form this hill. It's steep yeah? I looked at it and thought "No way, that's gotta fall down"
The secretThe secret
The secret

After climbing all over the hill I went for a wander through the museum attached to it and found this :)
For geeksFor geeks
For geeks

They installed all this when the rebuilt the hill last time.. it seems every time it's rained hard the whole thing gets washed away. Even with all this work, keeping the pile of dirt here is an ongoing task.
Wawel CastleWawel Castle
Wawel Castle

Doing the touristy thing


23rd December 2006

well,
it goes to show how much attention you paid - it was Much Ado About Nothing... but now that you've started on the whole classics road, I see no reason for you to stop, so perhaps I shall send you some Dickens to be going on with.
29th December 2006

Oh fuck.. I must've been paying SO much attention to the talent, the title slipped my mind :/ Shall we just say full credit, and Shakespeare was the winner on the day :)
27th April 2007

you're right
I just saw it and it WAS brilliant.

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 23; qc: 110; dbt: 0.1007s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb