Day 11 in Europe: Amsterdam , Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
December 23rd 2012
Published: December 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

At. Anne Franks HouseAt. Anne Franks HouseAt. Anne Franks House

Greatest Experiance Ever!
Greatings! Today is the Eve of Christmas Eve. This draws the last full daybin Amsterdam. This marks the longest time period we have at any country, at 4 nights and 5 days ( except for the week and a half I'll be staying in Brno, Czech Republic which I'll be stayin with my Awesome friend Nick Bunzle who lives there! Our procrastination may prove to be aweful as we have delayed booking our train reservations to Munich tomorrow on Christmas eve. Since its an overnight train we need one and it might be fully booked and miht have to spend a few extra days in Amsterdam, which wouldn't be tbat bad! lol. Our new roommates that got into our hostel today arr from LA and said that they did the same procrastination and the next non booked trainfor them to Italy was in a week, so they are staying in Amsterdam instead for the rest of there trip. Hopefully that will not happen to us. We will hope for a Christmas Miricale tomorrow morning when we try to book our reservation.

Today after our breakfast we started a 3 hour walking tour. By ths point in our time in the Vegas of Europe, we've seen almost everything but a tour with info on the sights is always benificial. Our tour guide was super awesome and said she moved here from Alaska 8 years ago to attained Graduate school and liked it so mucb here that she decided to stay and live here. I have been contimplating since the end of my time in Ireland about possibly doing the same for my PhD program in Medical Pysics, as I absolutely love Europe and it would be a great excuse to study abroad for an extended period of time. I will look into it and see if there are any application deadlines that are for January or later.

It was cool touring the town and learn about how they legalized prostitution, that the Catholic Church would offer sailors forgiveness for coming here for prostitution by paying them money to forgive their sins. Way to go Catholic Priests! Lol. We also learned that the houses have pullys to brin items up to the rooms of the buildings, since the buildings are too narrow to bring them from the front door and up the narrow and steep staira. We saw someone actually doing
in the Anne Frank Housein the Anne Frank Housein the Anne Frank House

One of the only pictures I could sneak in the Anne Frank House. That This ia where I signes the giant Gueatbook.
that whi h was pretty col.

After the tour, we met up with a few girls at the end of the tour from California and Australia and exchanged information. We then met up with the Awesome Emma for the last time and she took us to the best local Pancake shop of all time! Now these weren't your typical pancakes, these were Dutch Pancakes! The batter was cometely different and they made it with everything imaginable, such as meat, cheese, onions, ice cream, tomattoes and so on. I got tomatoes and Onions and it was literally the best pancake ive ever had, they cook the items into the batter and was Amazing.

From there, we went to what I believe to be one of the greatest experiances that I believe everyone should do in their life time. We went into the house where Anne Frank bid from the Nazis for two whole years. After studying and learning about Anne Frank my entire life, going into the house was absolutely nothing short of Amazing. Probably one of my top experiances of my Life. From walking up the nadrow stairs of the entrance of the house to walking through the
Epic Palace!Epic Palace!Epic Palace!

We saw Batman in front of it! Lol.
secret bookcase to their hiddwn life, it was absolutely amazing. Where she would write in her dairy about hearing the giant Clock tower and how she de orated her room with pasting pictures of newspapera in her room, it was Awesome being able to see that tower and her posted magazines as I walked through her room. I had such an eerie but cool feeling as I went through her roo. and livin areas. We saw the book by Charles Dickens that Anne Frank would write about in her dairy that her Dad would read to her, the bathroom that she would use and the room where they had to sit quitely for hours so the workers underneath them wouldn' t hear them. But the most amazing thing was seeing Anne Frank's actual Diaries, her actual handwriting, captured in time under the glass casings. Unfortunately they were super strict with taking pictuers, so I wasn't able to take any inside. After learning about her my whole life and listening to one of my favorite albums of all time which was a kind of Concept Album of Anne Frank from Neutral Milk Hotel's In an Aeroplane over the Sea, this has been the most Epic of Experiances.

Afterwards we said by to Emma as she road off on her bike, it was super Awezome thatvshe showed us around town. And hoky crap there are a lot of Bikes everywhere! Literally thousands and thousands and thousands of bikes everywhere! And I was super Amazed to learn hat thebdrinkin age herebis only 16 years old!!!!!!! a

Well, tomorrow is Christmas Eve and the first time in my Life hat I won't be spending it with my family, but I will be thinking about them and hope I will be able to get my Reservation to Munich tomorrow.

I shall see you guys in the Future!

-Chris

Advertisement



Tot: 0.398s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb