My last week in my first Eurotrip!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
July 27th 2012
Published: July 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I ended up staying with Francesc’s family in for the rest of my time in Barcelona which I am forever grateful for- gracias!! I had a really awesome time exploring Barcelona’s main attractions such as a whole lot of Gaudi’s architecture, of which my favourite like so many was Sagrada Familia. Actually I was lucky enough to walk past it every day because that’s the suburb I was staying in! We also saw a whole lot of statues, the museum and went to the beach. On a couple days we met up with Nacho who lived in my room the semester before me at Lund!! Small world. The three of us hung out in the old part of town, walked along the main street in the new part of town, had a look at the markets (I wish we had markets like this in Australia! Or maybe we do and I haven’t noticed them) and went to a castle that had an awesome view of the city and the coast.



For probably the first time this summer I booked my flight out of Barcelona more than one day in advance.. it was such a nice feeling, but also slightly weird knowing it was the last one I would have to book before I go home. So on Saturday morning I went to the airport stress free and met Niek in Amsterdam in the early arvo. That night we went to Milan’s place in the ‘beautiful part of town’ for dinner and drinkies before heading out. I feel so embarrassed that these boys can cook 100 times better than I can. Living in Sweden has really only helped me perfect the burger. Actually Niek can even shell prawns better than I can which is another Australian stereotype I fail at (the others being tanned and a surfer). Anyway the next day I finally got to see the windmills in Zaanse Schans which I desperately wanted to do last time I was there but never got around to. It was a very pretty area and even smelt like chocolate, but I didn’t realise it was actually a tourist attraction.. I thought it was just a whole lot of windmills in fields! I’m glad I went though. After this we went to Appelsap which was a super chilled hip hop and electronic music festival. I’m so glad we went because we weren’t planning to and even though I wasn’t familiar with most of the music I had the best time! I love it when artists perform in their mother tongue as opposed to English.



Finally my last day in Europe arrived. ARGGGGGGGHHH!!!! I’m sure many of my fellow Lundians can attest to how strange the feeling was. So I packed my bags, went to the airport, said ‘dag’ to Niek (not going to lie, definitely in the top ten of most horrible goodbyes ever) and jumped on the plane to Dubai.. and then Singapore.. and then finally Brisbane!



It’s funny being home, but so nice to see my family and friends again. I’ve been super spoilt by my family as they gave me flowers, perfume, a tea cup and a cake on my return!! Thankyouuuu. Also I just have to tell this story because I think it is hilarious. Mum made my brother and I a special dinner the night after I got back and the pumpkins were burnt!! At the end of the dinner mum’s plate was the only one that was completely empty and all the pumpkins still remained on Cam, Carissa, Dad and my plate. Cam even tried to hide his under his eaten corn cob. Hahahahhaha.



Anyway, I’ve got to say that the last seven months have probably been the best of my life so far! Tack to all my new friends for making it so and to my parents who helped me when I ran out of money (I swear I didn’t see it coming this time). I really hope our paths will cross in the near future, but until then hej då!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb