On the way!


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
April 12th 2011
Published: March 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

On the Way!






The fast track taxi guy was waiting for us downstairs and we took one last look of our house, my grandmother and my uncle were to accompany us to the airport. We had a smooth drive (In Chennai?Ha!) to the Chennai airport, the driver being talkative and having a cool blackberry phone. We arrived 4 hours ahead of our flight and we were bored already, but to our surprise, the check-in was open and we could wile away our time inside. Emirates has a reputation of nice service on board and I confirm that, the in flight entertainment system was just too cool. I could watch movies as much as I wanted. But my mother thought otherwise and I was forced to sleep for half an hour! What a waste of time.

The air hostess asked me if I wanted egg or beef or chicken. I said I wanted the egg. (I don't eat beef and wasn't in the mood for chicken) The egg turned out to be half boiled (I doubt that too).So I had to content myself with a bun and butter :'( . So much for my great expectations.



We landed in Dubai; the Dubai airport was huge, it was an architectural marvel!. I could see endless corridors and boards marked gates 101-300, what?! This airport was so huge! Yet it was maintained perfectly (Should I even mention our Chennai airport?). We had to travel a long distance to come to the main area with all the schedule boards, it turned out that our gate was only a few steps away from where we'd got down. We weren't really sad because we had a chance to see the airport. We were in time for boarding, We had a smooth flight and I watched Singam (Yes! Surya's Singam!) The food was yucky as usual (why couldn't they give us a ghee roast?).



The Schiphol airport Amsterdam was not as big as the Dubai airport, but it certainly looked high tech and European. We met my dad outside the gate and we chatted as we waited for the train. (The airport has an underground station) My dad said we were unlucky because the shortest route to Eindhoven was only 105 mins while this train was 180 mins long. But I looked forward to my journey as I love to observe stuff (ahem).

So we arrived in Eindhoven 180 mins later and I got a good look of the place where I would be staying in for the next two months. I thought about school and sighed with contentment, I was a thousand miles away!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb