From Maastricht, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
August 26th 2010
Published: August 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

I am taking a break from walking the streets of Maastricht which is the south of Holland. The days are already flying by so I guess you could say I've been busy. I have been in the Netherlands since August 22 and I'm starting to really get a feel for the different parts of the country. I spent the first 3 nights in Amsterdam in a Hostel which was my first Hostel and I wasn't sure what to expect. The Hostel was great and once I stay in a few more I'll be able to get a better feel for how good it really was.

I've seen a large amount of Amsterdam and I spent two days, or at least a small portion each day, on a bike in the city. The first night I visited the Red Light District 😊 with some friends I met at the Hostel, and then the first full day I toured around on my own. I mainly stayed around the West and South of the city centre. It was a rainy and extremely windy day and so it made it a little tricky on a bike but it was a great time. I visited Anne Frank's house and I guess I brought some bad luck because the tree that she references in her diary, saying that she can see it out her window while she was hiding from the Nazis, was taken down by the strong winds. A very sad day to know that the tree that was there during the war had fallen on the day I visited the house. The Good News is that they have been growing a new tree from an off-shoot from the original and will probably plant it soon at the same location.

On the second day I rented a bike again, this time an amazing sunny day, and toured around one of the tourist suggested bike routes North and East of the city. The traffic control with the bikes is unlike I've seen anywhere so far. Obviously this is one reason Amsterdam is a world class biking city. The traffic lights also have advances for the bikes. I met Wouter's sister and brother-in-law at night, went around the town and learnt some facts from the locals I wouldn't find in my book. We went to their place after having an Indonesian dinner at a restaurant and finished off the night with a couple games of fifa10. I was a disgrace. Sorry Marco. I suggest you try to build back our reputation by taking him online again. He has been praticing and I haven't.

I checked out of Amsterdam the following morning and took the train to Amersfoot to meet Wouter's parents who took me back to their house. The first thing I noticed is that the neighbourhoods let the greenery grow much more than we do. Things don't look so perfect on the grassy street curbs and there are a ton of plants and trees on the small parkways It looks more natural in a way. Their house is a really a nice place. It has alot of character, good light and a garden. I believe its similar to our townhouses but with way more character. It was a great day so we toured around the neighbourhood of Leusden (sorry if I spelled that wrong) and then into the city of Amersfoot all on bike. I think the trip was 17km but flat like a lake. It is an old city with old stone gates and walls, it is quiet around the the small rivers that circle the city and lively in its squares where young and old hang out for a drink. I especially like how stopping for a drink and a bite is so frequent here. It really slows the pace down and gives you time to enjoy your day. We finished the day off watching Ajax vs Kiev which was the second leg of the qualification for Champions League, a great game. By the way, Ajax won and is through to the group stage.

So, today I am in Maastricht for a very famous food festival and I hope the rain lets up soon. Tomorrow I will go back to Wouter's house for a few more nights and then its off to Berlin. I booked 7 nights broken down into two different hostels in Berlin (thanks to Mike T for sending that hostel website, I'm using it as a solid reference). The second night I am in Berlin I will be going to an Arcade Fire concert near my Hostel and I just boought a ticket...sort of. Thank you craigslist.

I hope I didn't go on too long here...I've been busy. I'll drop a line again in Berlin. Until then, Proost!!

DS




Advertisement



27th August 2010

Enjoying the journey I see!!!!!
About now Paolo I am very envieous and I wish you were here and I over there. It sounds like you are really having a great time. I pray for you every night that you enjoy each day. Have fun be good and if you can't be goo then for heaven sakes, just stay safe. luv yah aunty mich

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb