Getting in touch with my roots in Terschelling, Holland


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
August 28th 2008
Published: August 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


West TerschellingWest TerschellingWest Terschelling

and the Brandaris lighthouse
I have been spending the last few days relaxing on the Island of Terschelling. Els and I went back the cranberry factory and had a 2 hour long presentation - which unfortunatly was all in dutch. I could understand about 5% of what the guy was saying by a combination of logic and my limited vocab. The best part was at the end when got to sample some of the liquor made from the famous berries. One was 30% and resembled Jagermeister. Nice. After that I jumped on the bike and checked out the settlement of West Terschelling. It has a really cute old part of town, where I checked out the house my Oma was raised. I then climbed the closest dune (of which there are many) and took some nice snaps of the Brandaris - which is the famous lighthouse thats the unofficial symbol of the island. GB says that when they were kids and up to mischief it was important that you didnt get illuminated by the all seeing eye. I will keep that in mind.

We had dinner with my rele's Joke and Yolanda - which was bloody nice. Im being spoilt with dutch cooking here. For lunch we had Kroket today which GB described as a kinda pie stick, with bread crumbs on the outside - bloody delicious! Some day now I have to try a whole herring that has been cured in salf - its famous around here and sounds a bit ''éxtreme'. But Dad and aunty Theo have both tried them so apparently I have to hang my head in shame if I dont try one - you eat them pelican style.

Went for a big bike ride with Els today, exploring the middle part of the Island. There are bike tracks everywhere, running along the dykes, through the dunes and forrest. Very cool. I tried a cherry beer on one of our stops at the beach. Nice for one beer, but not the kinda thing you would attach yourself to for a whole night.

Time to rest my legs (so unfit)


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The WhanauThe Whanau
The Whanau

Gerrit (GB) - Yolanda - Joke - ME - Els
The old part of townThe old part of town
The old part of town

bikes are king


Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb