Lurking beneath sea level


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
April 13th 2008
Published: April 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So official start of the trip - a day in Amsterdam trying to stay awake... and living in fear. Something about this city has me completely on edge (and my sense of melodrama won't let me consider the possibility I'm just tired and grumpy after 40 hours in transit).

To summarise, my main fears appear to be:
1) Getting run down- the nominations for potential vehicles are many: most likely, bike! There are seriously about ten million more than I even imagined. and they're mad. I know, it's meant to be my job to want Australia to be more like this, healthy, environmentally friendly, blah blah. scary. Other nominations include car, motorbike, scooter (they ride on the bike paths!) or canal boat.
2) Innocently wandering into a dodgy area, there seem to be quite a few.
3) Going broke because I keep thinking in oz dollars and paying in Euros.
4) Going a week with no carbohydrate at all. Thus far, not very gluten-free-friendly city. Plenty of cheese though!

So conference starts tomorrow, and I have a couple of days still to eagerly await Simon's arrival.

Write me emails!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb