Visiting Mauritshuis (Maurits's House), Den Haag, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » The Hague
May 21st 2017
Published: April 3rd 2023
Edit Blog Post

It was still my last day in The Hague and I had much more to see. Just meters away from the Binnennhof (Inner Court) was Mauritshuis (Maurits House) that was built in the 1600s AD as a private residence for Count Johan Maurits. In 1822 this fine structure was converted to an art museum. I can not remember the entry fee, but it was well worth it.

When I entered I was greeted with a statue of Maurits. There was a large selection of fine original Dutch artwork. Then I entered the Royal Picture Gallery that had artwork dealing with the Dutch Royalty. Then I entered the Rembrandt Room with original paintings from this great Dutch artist.

Leaving the art museum I wanted to walk by the long scenic Hofvijver (lake), on my nature walk.

Not far away was the Haag Historisch Museum (Historical Museum of The Hague). This Museum collection of artifacts from The Hague started in 1871, and was housed in several locations at the collection increased over the years. I saw old paintings and artifacts from daily life in The Hague at the museum.

I walked around an old part of Den Haag for a while and got to see a number of fine old buildings.

I arrived at De Grote Kerk (Big Church) that is also known as Sint Jacobs Kerk (Saint James Church). I should have paid a small fee for a tour of this nifty old church and walked up the stairs of the Toren (Tower) for a wonderful 360 degree view of The Hague. I regret I was simply to pooped out for the day for the tour and walking up the 288 tower steps. This church was founded in the late 1200s AD, and started as a wooden building. In the 1400s AD the current brick building was constructed.

I slowly walked back towards my hotel. I made a relaxing stop at the Paleistuin (Palace Garden) for me to say good by to this very nice old city.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 106, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

down to entry
MaurithuisMaurithuis
Maurithuis

Maurits statue
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

my self portrait (LOL)
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

paintings
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

painting
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

painting
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

paintings
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

painting
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

painting on wood
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

painting on wood
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

painting on wood
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

nice mirror
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

painting
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

painting
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

painting
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

painting
MauritshuisMauritshuis
Mauritshuis

Royal Picture Gallery


Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0973s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb