Welcome


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Leiden
March 12th 2008
Published: March 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys,

Welcome to my Blog. If you're here you probably know who I am, but just in case you don't I'll run through some details. I'm 29 (although will turn 30 during my trip) and from the Netherlands. I'm self employed as basically a photographer for photo and film, working mainly on corporate events like company outings or promotion video's and stuff like that. Before this I worked as a manager at a factory for a couple of years.

The next 12 months or so I'll be traveling around Australia, going counter clockwise from Sydney and hoping to complete a round trip.

In typical fashion for me I've probably set myself too many targets. Where some people go to see the sights, live outdoors or maybe see a particular species of bird or plant, my wish list is a lot more diverse. Mainly though, it's about a change of scenery and life style. It's about living a lot more with and in nature than here, catching as much of my own dinner as possible while seeing a different (and hopefully appealing) aspect of western culture. I guess on some level I'm hoping to find something there that will give me a better idea of what I want to be doing for a significant part of the rest of my life, be it here in Holland or elsewhere and failing that, I at least want to experience a year that I'll be talking and thinking about for a long, long time.

When I get to Sydney I'll be buying a 4x4 to travel the country with. This will give me the freedom to go pretty much wherever I want, when I want to without having to depend on other travelers or tour operators. It's also the best way to escape civilization and other people. Currently I'm looking at putting a tinny (an aluminium boat for those of none-ozzy heritage) on top and a 15hp outboard to go with that. Besides giving me about a million times better options when fishing, it will also allow me to go out and look around rivers and lakes by myself (again, not dependent on a tour) which will be a bonus especially when I'm up north.

One of the things I'm really looking forward to the is Australian fishing. Having grown up with Rex Hunt on the Discovery channel, it has always been a dream to wet a line down under. There's just no comparing what we here in Holland call fishing to what goes on there. Best part of it is.. free dinner! :D Expect to see a lot of fishing reports in between my 'normal' travel blogs as there are some blokes from various fishing forums reading this as well. BTW, if you're one of those blokes (or a lady, although chances of that are much slimmer I'm afraid) and you see I'm somewhere near where you live, please leave me a message. I'd love to meet up with as many people as possible, either for fishing or for a nice cold one so just drop me a note and I'll see if I can swing by!

I'll post some more details soon but for now it looks like I'll be in Sydney some time just after Easter.

23/03/08:

For any Dutchies who read this, I'd like to say that I've also got a Dutch blog. Although I won't post there as much as I will here, just for the record the address is:
http://martijnf.waarbenjij.nu/


Advertisement



24th March 2008

Have a good trip, and see u when you get here Jack

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb