Molen (Windmill) De Put, Leiden, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » South Holland » Leiden
May 16th 2017
Published: February 27th 2023
Edit Blog Post

I made a brief stop at my hotel, and I was off walking again. (It was so nice to visit cities that are not over-run with slums.) With no specific destination I was just walking to to explore this charming city.

I made a walk by many fine old buildings, canals, and the Leiden port. From there I could see a nice windmill in the distance and walked in that direction. I walked through the City West Gate, and continued walking toward the windmill.

I arrived at the Molen De Put. I was happy to see that this interesting windmill was open to the public with no entry fee. I walked up the narrow outside stairs and saw the wooden gears that transferred the energy of the windmill wings to the grinding stone. I also got an nice view of the area around the windmill. This reminds me of Molen De Valk, but on a smaller scale. After a good visit at De Put, it was time for me to continue my walk.

Molen De Put was built in the 1600s. In 1987 this windmill was rebuilt as a copy of the original Molen.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

canalcanal
canal

De Put in distance
canal portcanal port
canal port

De Put in distance
West City GateWest City Gate
West City Gate

other side
De PutDe Put
De Put

stairs up
De PutDe Put
De Put

sign
De PutDe Put
De Put

plaque
De PutDe Put
De Put

inside wooden gears


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb