So tired, so burnt


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Muiden
June 26th 2005
Published: June 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

...and I'm spent.

It's been a long day. I have no idea why I'm working on this blog instead of passing out in a bathtub full of cool water. Today, Ton (the same Dutch colleague who toured a bunch of us around Rotterdam) took Dale and me up north near Amsterdam to the cities of Weesp and Muiden for a 10-mile hike across the countryside. Along the way: a fort city and a medieval castle...."ooooooh", "ahhhhhhhh."

The weather was awesome...right in the 70s and tons of sun, which seemed like a good thing at the time. My wicked farmer's tan and sunburned face are not feeling particularly awesome at the moment, though. There was some great scenery along the way...old towns, forts, cannons, sprawling farmlands, and paths cut through shoulder-height fields; so all in alll, a good hike. After capping all that walking off with a half liter of Heineken and an all-you-can-eat Chinese buffet, I was about ready to doze off at the dinner table. Talk about a chain of events to put you soundly to sleep!

Now that I think about it, I SHOULD be tired; it's been a long weekend overall.

Yestrday (Saturday), Shruti, Jen, Adam and I spent something like 6 hours snowboarding, go-karting, and obstacle-course-ing (yes, I'm making up verbs) at De Uithof; a huge indoor/outdoor 'sportainment' center where you can also do rock climbing and ice skating; in addition to the things I just mentioned. A great day overall, if you count out the times I busted my butt on the pole-lift up the ski slopes (not so easy with a snowboard as it is with skis), the 3 tries it took me to remember if I needed a regular or goofy snowboard, and the fact that I, Mr. Uber car fanatic placed behind Adam in the go-karting.

Friday, we were out for Nazia's going-away party. Nazia's off to Houston, so perhaps you all will get to meet her someday. Her send off included a big dinner party, drinks at the plein near the Havana dance club, and then dancing at Havana until 4am.

Thursday was another banner poker night, and Wednesday was another night of eating way too much. But hey, when the weather's as great as it is here right now, sitting outdoors for dinner and a few Hoegaardens is the way to go!

Pics are here, with the rest of the June mess: Click Here

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb