15. Journey End


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
September 21st 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

With a staggering 10 hour wait ahead I board the train to Schipol airport. The airport is by many standards rather impressive and includes things such as a deck to watch the planes do their thing. I spend some time in an empty part of a restaurant until a couples tear filled fight prompts me to leave. Much of the airport closes down and killing the time becomes tediously unbearable. I have no more than a few cents so my time is spent sitting and staring off into space. If I fall asleep just once I could miss the flight, so I situate myself in a sitting position that makes me fall forward within a few minutes of falling asleep. Perhaps its nerves, but a bag of oddly named chips doesn't sit well and I puke, but vow to get on the plane no matter how sick I am. Since its been weeks since I've technically bathed I liberally apply deoderant to my body and clothes, all for the benefit of other passengers.
All that wonderful stuff associated with international flying passes and I eventually board my flight. I find my window seat which is by a cute but probably too young girl. We spend much of the next 5 hrs talking about music and life in general. Upon arriving we exchange emails and I am grateful to have sat beside such a pleasant person. There is nothing that could wipe the smile off my face,I'm home. With almost zero baggage I quickly pass through security and into arrivals. My mother and sister await me and can't stop making fun of my patchy beard and disheveled appearance. Its great to be home and I've never been more proud to be Canadian. fin.

Retrospective


Throughout the story I have kind of alluded to the idea that there was possibly a reason things went wrong on many occasions. I told myself many times that if just slept in a bed once, or got cleaned up that I would stay. If things had went more my way I would have stayed and would have returned on the day of my best friends funeral. Instead by returning early I got to spend two awesome weeks hanging out with him. I see no coincidence and going home was the best decision I ever made. The point is that sometimes failing is in fact succeeding.
Writing these stories out has been really fun and I would like to thank anyone who actually read them, and especially thank my 3 actual subscribers that made me feel like somebody was interested. Europe is an amazing place with some amazing people and I'm actually planning to go back as soon as possible. If anyone has any travel blogs that you would like me to read just send me the links and I'll definetely read them. Thanks again and happy travels. - phil e

Advertisement



22nd September 2006

Thank you so much for sharing your adventure. It has been a pleasure to read.
22nd September 2006

sleeping rough in Europe
You sound like you made the most of the worst possible luck... An example to all travellers who inspire to take on the world. Most people wouldn't sleep in a hostel, let alone under a bush......respect man!
13th October 2006

for the record
68415 Characters 1069 lines 117 Paragraphs 13201 Words 27 pages

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb