It's not a war on drugs, it's a war on fun !


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
August 8th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello

Summer is rolling. I know everyone is good. I am glad that GREAT aunt Jean is healing well and that the Nubster is feeling ok. Good !
I am in wonder of how Anna is able to express herself through technology. I always knew the only thing keeping her from taking over are opposable thumbs. I guess she got over that obstacle!

Late july; I found my way through the Czech Republic. After the town of Olomouc in Moravia i went west into Bohemia. Prague is a jewel but far too crowded at this time of year. I remember those medieval streets, squares and bridges. This was my thrid time to explore and chill in this city. I know Octavian misses this place as much as me. Much time spent day dreaming of the great times spent in these lands the past few years ehh brother.

This gives me the time to say congrats and enjoy my brother. Octavian just had a baby boy (Xavier) this week. Thank you for the pictures. Enjoy that experience. Take care of the mrs. as that is your job in these early times.
He is the second one of my good friends in this world to have a baby during the past year. Dean, your boys are looking good and the pic of 'big brotha' on the board is sweet as. Good times!!

Back to the story.
I was overjoyed to find that the Jehovah's Witnesses of the world decided to have their annual summer convention in Prague. Tens of thousands of them. All wearing their badge of membership. Also a funny sight while in Poland, chillin in the main square in Krakow, these college aged girls from america spitting that same old sunday school rhetoric. Pushing it pretty hard. Then they break into a choreographed routine set to the song 'my god is an awsome god'.
Comical it was. Who wrote that song? Am not sure the Polish folks were digin it, but i think the girls felt good about their effort.

Interesting dynamics and sights i have had on this journey of mine. So many different philosophies and ways of thinking in this world.
All signs point to the individual and their personal quest for the truth and what makes their existence worthwhile.

But yeah.
I planned on travelling through Germany and staying with Francizka. Remember her. I surfed with her in New Zealand and then ran into her on that mountain hike. We both planned on it but her time went long as she was kept in Norway longer than she planned and i was finished in Czech and needed to head north. Too bad. But she is doing good.

I arrived in Amsterdam and properly smashed it. The times, ways, architecture, people, food. It's such a blend of cultures that you can find anything you desire. I found some turkish markets and food of course. They aren't as pleased when i try to practice my turkish on them. So i shut that down.

There is so much going on here that you could never become bored.
There are free concerts in the park 4 nights a week. I found a place to climb again and that has been amazing. I needed to hit that part of my normal lifestyle again. I spend a few evenings a week with my old friend Bas. He and his girl live in a nice place here in Amsterdam now. We share dinners and i am here at his place writing to you now. He is a financial analyst for ING. His life is going well i think. His girl is very nice and a good fit for him. I hope he doesn't screw it up!

We will meet up with Eelco, who is engaged to Bas's sister, tonight for a big dinner. Good times.

There are also a couple of tracks to run at as well. The national stadium where the 1928 Summer Olympic Games were held and one that is closer to where i stay. Very nice.

I was hanging in the Dam Square yesterday and watched the protesters chant and show/wave their banners. Like all through Europe it seems they protest America and Israel and the violence. They show up, light their torches and pose for the media that was asked to show up and document it. The well off, middle working class types mill around talking to each other about how bad the violence is and regurgitating what they hear and read to each other. Then they tire of standing or they get hungry so they put the fire out and their hour for the cause is over and they go back to their life.

Do they call how life has been there in Israel peaceful? Back to those ways is not the answer. Where are the protesters when millions were butchered in Africa; from the Sudan to the Congo???

The attention spans, perspectives, logic and esp. the media in this world leaves much to be desired.

Everyone has the right to protest and have an opinion, even though many don't know the first thing about personal sacrifice and war. The freedom to protest is given to them by those who do.


OK....

That is all i will say after seeing the flag burned worldwide. How does the current adm solve these problems????
A dangerous spot the world is in now. Decisions now.......


Yes, i will head into the city. It might rain. SO

I will go. I have a couple more weeks here then i head north to Scotland.

Full moon tomorrow.

Talk to you in 10 days.

Love
Jonathan









Advertisement



Tot: 0.304s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb