D22 + 23: Bus voyage to Amsterdam. Yes. Voyage.


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 23rd 2013
Published: July 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Sunburn update: The pools in Budapest did not turn me into a lobster. No, instead I'm only partially a raccoon. Not bad.

Yesterday:

I windowshopped in the morning - how adventurous, I know... but I had a bus to catch early afternoon and only had one metro ticket left... so I had to stay close to the hostel haha.

Saw the best sign ever in my journey today - there was a prohibition sign on some (important?) building that showed not only are dogs mot allowed to pee, but neither are humans - who incidentally apparently also pee on their four legs. Fascinating. That is one sign I have never seen before haha.

At the bus station (which I begrudgingly headed off to) was a homeless man with the two cutest dogs I've ever seen - one was older, one looked barely past the puppy stage and he was playing up a storm with the younger one. I couldn't help but just smile - you can't fake love for animals like that... sigh, I miss my pets. Well. Maybe not Balou so much haha, but I definitely miss Homer-bear.

Anyway, I had some leftover forint, so I happily got it out to give to the man - we then had a lovely interaction. When he heard the cling-cling of change he looked up with a big smile. I smiled back and he started talking full speed in Hungarian.

Me: Ahhhh *point to myself* English. *big smile again, slight nod.*
Him: He smiled but made a cross with his fingers, "no english". But then put his hands together in a gesture of thanks. Smiles and thank yous - the universal language 😊

The older dog started sniffing my leg (I was like omg don't you dare pee! haha) and I ended up petting both little guys. Ugh, they were too adorable. I don't know how I'm going to last a year without any pets.

Ok so, yes, back to the bus ride... the 22 hour bus ride. I love that I always rationalize my choice when I buy these tickets and conveniently forget that anything more than 12-15 hours makes me go insane. ('Oh it's like 30 euros cheaper if I take the bus even though it takes 3x as long! Imma do that!'😉. Sigh. My thriftiness while travelling has some extreme pitfalls.

Bus musings:
- I love driving past fields - I like the different haystacks (alas no more Cousin Its) and the different ways they water them and just seeing different farm machinery
- Guy in front of me is drinking beer? Oh Europe.
- When you're bored and dance music comes on your iPod, it's hard not to full out dance in your seat.
- Pit stop in Austria had push pop smartie ice cream..!! omg I had totally forgotten about those
- I forgot you have to pay to pee in Western Europe. Boo.
- I spoke too soon re: music. I just busted out the dance moves to "Backstreet's Back". Yeah. That's right. I still remember the moves.
- I love windmills.
- A German border control at 1 am is always a pleasant experience.
- Speaking of the border, I'm still confused by why no one asks me anything? I'm not an EU Citizen. And they collected almost everyone's passport or ID to go check them... but not mine? I feel I will pay dearly for this later with the UK border. Oh, revenge.
- Oh my God they didn't even pass the ID's back haha they gave them all to one passenger who had to go around the bus calling out names.
- What is this bus ride?
- I forgot that Eurolines stops every 2 hours. Makes sleep a little inconvenient.
- So does a girl beside you who decides to sleep sideways and occupy half your seat.
- Sleep is overrated. I'm going back to dancing in my seat.
- Hi Nuremburg. It's... 3 am?
- Yep, sleep is overrated. I'm going to watch Whose Line is it Anyway instead. Much better.
- I'm sad I'm not getting off the bus in Germany. I love Germany. I suddenly have a crazing for currywurst.
- The overhead compartment is leaking a few seats in front of me? And one of the staff just started poking at it..? Good maintenance skills right there haha.
- Aw, everyone's on a bike here. It's cute. Although I question how peaceful it is to bike along the highway.
- A SIGN FOR AMSTERDAM. FINALLY THE VOYAGE IS OVER

Today (post bus ride):

Wasn't my bus ride RIVETING? I thought so.

Found the hostel without any problems (oh thank you! too tired to hunt).

I did head into the City Centre after dropping my bags off - again, sleep is overrated. As I sat down on the train to head back to Centraal I remembered I left my phone in the hostel room... in the bathroom... le sigh. Got off at the next stop and went baaaack to the hostel to grab my phone before someone else could.

Once I finally made it to Centraal I got to explore a little. I didn't stay out too late though because I am so tired - basically just got the layout of the city so tomorrow I can do my proper exploration. I don't have enough time in the city, so I'm definitely taking the attitude of "it's ok, I'll be back another time".

I love when I take that attitude 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.404s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.119s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb