Amsterdam, Netherlands


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
September 16th 2011
Published: November 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Brussels, Belgium to Amsterdam, Netherlands


I arrive in Amsterdam at the Central station. The directions to my hostel were pretty clear, and within ten to fifteen minutes I was there. I was early, however you can store your luggage for a fee, and after figuring out how to do this, I was off. My first sight that I wanted to see was the Anne Frank house. I had asked at the reception in the hostel, and they told me with a map in round about ways how to get there. I first came upon the main square. Wow!!! The absolute beauty; the people; the bicycles. It seemed everyone was riding bikes. Needless to say I had the little bike horn or bell or whatever it was rung at me on more than on a few occasions. I took several photos, and I decided to move on. I walked for what seemed like a long time, and I found the most beautiful cathedral. I took photos, and I knew I was getting close. I went down one street and stopped in to ask the person at the counter. It just so happens to be a Sci-Fi store with many Star Wars things, so we had a nice chat about those. He told me exactly how to get there, and within minutes, I was there. Problem is the line was very long, but what else did I have to do? So..I qued up in line. Actually the wait was only about an hour. I paid my 8.50 Euros and went in. At first, there was a short documentary of what took place during this time. At your leisure, you start making your way up to the secret annex. In each room, there are pictures as to how it used to look. There was no furniture, for after the Frank's and others were captured, the furniture was taken out. As I made my way to the secret passage way that was covered by a book case, my mind was thinking that once these families were in there, they did not come out for a couple of years. Wow. I made my way up the same stairs that were used and went through each room. I don't see how they lived like that for so long. It was touching, for still on the wall (in a glass case now) was the measuring lines as to how much Anne and her sister Margot grew. One set of stairs that you could not climb were the ones from Peter van Pel’s room. These stairs went up to the loft, and was the only way that sunlight came in, for all of the windows were darkened or painted out. I probably spent an hour inside, and I saw all I wished to see here. I knew I could more likely than not check into my hostel, so I made my way back. Upon arrival, the reception area remembered my name. I was impressed. Anyway, my room was ready, and I made my way there. My first thought was to take a shower. I did so, and I flooded the entire bathroom or shower area. I thought that my room- mates would be upset, so I turned on the heater to try and dry it out. One of my room-mates came in, and he said the shower was stopped up or a slow drain or something. This room-mates name was David, and he was from Australia. We hung out on the first night. He also was married, but traveling alone. I had several room- mates in the two days. Three of them I did not get a chance to ask, one from Brazil, three from Australia, and six from California. More on them later for they came day two.
Room-mate David ask me if I had been to the Heineken Experience. I told him not yet, but I planned to go there. I left the hostel, and thought about walking to my next destination, but I thought better of it, and I purchased a 24 hour tram pass. The person at the counter gave me a pretty good map and he also told me which train numbers (16 and 24) to catch.
He showed me where to catch the bus, and off I went. Within a matter of minutes, I was on a bus heading toward the Heineken Experience. I was not sure about the stop, so I happened to turn around, and I was like, "Oh this is my stop". I exited the bus, made my way across the street, and entered the Heineken brewery. I am not much of a drinker; however, I wanted to see how beer was made. I am glad I did. It was very interesting, and you got to take a simulated ride which was patterned after the beer making process. I departed here, and my number one objective for coming to Amsterdam was to get my photo by the IAMSTERDAM sign outside of the Rijksmuseum. My map gave me general directions as to how to get to the Rijksmuseum. I started to walk, and very soon I saw this massive structure. I made it. I walk around, and a very big smile came across my face. There it was. I had waited for a year for this moment. IAMSTERDAM. I took several photos, and asked someone to photo me in front of the sign. The people getting pictures made were nuts. People were climbing all over this thing. Anyway, I was very satisfied at this moment. Down from here was the Van Gogh museum. Originally I thought I might like to go in there, but it was now closing time, and I could not get in. I snapped a photo of the place, and made my way back to the bus pick up. Now... by this time it started to rain. I did not love life. I was still a good piece from the bus stop, and I just put my rain jacket on and sucked it up. I got on the bus, and I thought I did the right thing. Turns out my bus was not going back where I came from. I did not know this right away. I guess it was not so bad, for I got to see other areas of interest while on the bus. Everyone got off the bus but me, and the driver came to me and told me I was at the end of the line and had to get off. I told him I had to get back to the stop DAM. He told me to walk up the street, take a right at the trees, and another stop would be there. Disgusted, I did this. I found the stop and a sign that had my bus number on it. I sat down, and a young woman sat beside me. I asked her if my bus was going the right way, and she told me no. She said mine would be across the street. I quickly made my way there, got on the bus, and back to my hostel I went. Once arriving at my hostel, two of my room-mates were there. David (traveler from Australia) asked me if I wanted to walk a bit. I am glad he did, for I really did not want to walk the red light district alone. We started out, and what a sight to behold. The lights were plenteous, and the people were many. Pot smell was in the air. There were plenty of "coffee houses" where smoking pot was legal. We went in one just to see it, and I saw things we just don't see in the states. People sitting right at a table rolling joints. Needless to say, we did not stay in there but a minute, for neither of us smoke. My clothes probably reek for just being in there. Oh well, what you going to do? We made our way to these rooms with red lights on the top. Prostitution is legal here, and there were women of all shapes, sizes, colors, tattoos, or whatever else might entice someone. The lines of both men and women would walk by the doors, and the woman would look at you and ask you in. I just did not make eye contact with them. Some looked so sad. It actually is sad that people have to do these things, but none the less the crowds were massive. I kind of laughed when I would see a man come out of a room. They probably did not think much about it going in, but they have to come out the same door. Pretty sad.
I was awakened the next morning at about 6:30 from one of my room-mates coming in. He flips on the light, makes tons of noise, and starts coughing and hacking. Too bad his bunk was above mine. He climbs up in there, and proceeded to toss and turn. Luckily I was getting up soon to start day two. Starting day two, I wanted to see the recreation of the Noah's Ark. I brought a round trip ticket to Schagen in which the arc was built. I finally arrived there, and I asked four different locals about the ark. Two did not know, and two told me that the ark was not there. They told me it was now in the US on tour. What a bummer! I had just spent almost twenty Euro to get to this place, and the ark was not here. Bummer! I boarded the train back to Amsterdam Central, and headed back. What a disappointment, but I guess I tried. Once back in Amsterdam, I decided I wanted to see the Olympic stadium. I boarded a tram and off I went. I arrived and found out I could not tour for it was being rented out or on loan from Heineken. I was able to take pictures, but that was about it. I felt pretty special being there however. The Olympics were there in 1928. What history there was! Time to go back. I leave for Berlin in the morning.



Additional photos below
Photos: 121, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb