The fiasco that was Amsterdam


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
August 24th 2005
Published: January 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Amsterdam canalAmsterdam canalAmsterdam canal

The only photo I took in Amsterdam (probably a good thing)
We stayed at a hostel called Hans Brinker in Amsterdam, a pretty dirty hostel where I wouldn't have been surprised if the beds were riddled with bed bugs. We dropped off our stuff and then headed straight down to the bar for beers. I was with Mel from Morocco, Frosty, Rohan and Lisa. I also chatted with my two roommates for a little while, a nice couple named Nadine and Campbell. We then followed Frosty to the Red Light District (got a little lost en route, but eventually tracked down the Bulldog). We had schemes of going to a Live Sex show and the sex museum, but we decided to pop into a "Coffee Shop" first, and ended up staying there for the night. I was actually quite keen to smoke a joint, when in Amsterdam...

So when a huge joint cae my way, I took multiple drags off it just like I was smoking a cigarette. Everyone kept saying it was really weak, just tobacco really, so I kept smoking it, hoping for just a little buzz. But then, bloody Rohan said "Man, I'm really stoned" and it totally freaked me out because I figured if he was really stoned, I must be REALLY stoned! I started to be aware that it was taking me quite a while to look from one thing to another, and then my neck started hurting which made me wonder if I'd actually just smoked crack and I'd screwed up my spine. I started totally freaking out, feeling nauseous and dizzy and hot, and I went to the bathroom to take a short breather. That only made me feel worse because I was afraid I'd pass out and no one would find me, so I left the stall unlocked just in case. I didn't know if I should contact the bartender and tell him I was afraid I was dying, or if I should head home, or just go back to the table and wait it out. I broke into a cold sweat and was terrified that I was about to die. The thing is, smoking pot is scarier than drinking because at least with alcohol, you can throw up and it'll feel better. I had no idea how to make the stoned-ness go away! Finally, I went back to the table, told everyone I needed to get some air, and I left the bar and sat on a seat beside canal. The bouncer laughed at me a little bit, asking me if I'd smoked a little too much (which I vehemently denied, of course), and after a while, the drizzle and the fresh air made me feel better. Lisa came outside and said she was going home so I decided to join her. She turned out to be a half-decent girl and kinda took care of me.

That night, I was excited for a good sleep but to my shock, Nadine turned out to be the worst snorer I'd ever heard. I mean, seriously, I couldn't believe such a sound was coming out of such a little girl!! I barely slept a wink, between the snoring and the Redbull I'd drank earlier, not to mention my lingering fear that the pot might kill me. No more drugs for me... ever.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.418s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb