Amsterdam!!!! and classes:(


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
July 3rd 2008
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, after an 8 1/2 hour bus ride I made it to Amsterdam yesterday morning at about 6:00am. We had emailed a friends from school and he met us at the bus station and showed us how to get to the dorms. Checking in was fairly easy. I have not gotten as acclamated (sp?) with Amsterdam as quickly as I did with Berlin because the other people we are with keep leading us around therefore I haven't had to learn how to get around. I am sure that will come. We had our first day of classes today. It was really just orientation, but we do have an exam for orientation because we get credit. It was pretty interesting and it seems like the program is going to be very educational.
The Fun Stuff:
There are 15 other people from Tulane law and 60 people total in the program. We have met quite a few. They all seem to be relatively nice, and they are all from law schools in the States. A lot of us hung out last night in my quads common room. We have a balcony which is pretty awesome, so we are just meeting people by walking out on the balconies and asking who is about. It is pretty interesting. I have not been "out" yet in Amsterdam (friends remember that my family is reading this to so let's keep it G rated, not like there is anything bad that they would say family). It seems like the program is going to be pretty intense so we aren't going to have a tremendous amount of time to go out, but I really want to go dancing at some point. I went in Berlin and it was great. The best thing about dancing in Europe is that no one can dance. They just jump around and flail their arms about (it sounds dangerous, but it is perfectly safe). I fit right in. We walked down the red light district yesterday on our way to campus (yea I walk through it on the way to school) there were half naked women in windows, and you are not allowed to take pictures of even the street or the bouncers will assault you. It smelled like pee and liquor, so pretty much it was a lot like bourbon street, nothing really that different. There are "coffee shops" everywhere, but I learned today that drugs are illegal in the Netherlands, but they just don't really follow the laws. How strange is that?

Please keep writing comments I love to read them and stay in touch. Y'all know me I tend to get homesick, actually I am really homesick, but having a great time. I miss and love you all!
Julia

Advertisement



4th July 2008

yay
well I thought I would be the first to comment on this day! The trip sounds awesome! I hope you are taking a million pictures everyday. Capture every moment. The European lifestyle is definitely one to envy! Hope all is well and keep writing!!!
4th July 2008

re: Well you made it!
Hey Jules, Great, I'm so glad your there. Write when you can with descriptions of all sorts. Your blogs have been wonderfully informative so far. I can't wait to hear more. Sounds as if they are going to work you a bit though. Have a great trip and remember your homeland on the 4th. Here in New York lots of fireworks and oh yes four manmade waterfalls along the East River. They were conceptualized by a Danish artist! Connections, connections! I will see them by boat (only 5 dollars this weekend, a Fourth of July special). Well love you alot and I can't wait to hear more about your awesome adventure. Sounds as if Germany and dancing was great fun. Stay a good girl. All my love, Mom
5th July 2008

Trainsurfin
I have this strong urge to ride into Amsterdam to see you guys. I feel like I've been away from my NOLA friends for so long, even though it has only been a couple of weeks. But, I will restrain myself for today. I was invited to this party near the beach where a large number of Dutch locals will congregate, imbibe upon a plethora of alcoholic beverages, and enjoy the rainy weather. Hey, when you come to The Hague, I found this awesome beach bar to show you. It's quite posh, with little personal fire-tables and dance music. Get excited!
14th July 2008

Cool Beans
So happy for you! Study hard and enjoy the sites and sounds. Hay, hows the chocolate?

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb