Amsterdam - Welcome to the World of Sleaze


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
May 20th 2007
Published: May 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Before starting my week of hedonism in Amsterdam I visited my old dutch flatmate Francis in the small town of Wageningen. Walking through the countryside there i had one of those moments of realisation - "shit, I'm on the other side of the world". Walking home from our night out we bumped into some people Francis knew and I got my first taste of Holland weed.

Anthony, one of the Australians from the Granada crew was in Amsterdam at the same time I was. Our first night there was a big one. It's Amsterdam, no point in dilly dallying. We walked around town and soaked it all in, stopping for a few beers here and there. We then moved onto some gateway drugs. It's pretty cool smoking a joint on a main street without a care in the world. Everywhere you go in The Netherlands the smell of Marijuana is close by. We walked into town to the red light district and found a coffee shop. If you want a coffee in Amsterdam you go to a cafe. If you want a smoke you go to a coffee shop. I'm not 100% on this but it seems that it's not possible to buy weed and alcohol at the same place. Quite annoying I think. We went to the coffee shop with a bunch of people from Anthony's hostel. Some of them bought joints but we tried the space brownies. Being quite peckish i slammed it down. It was the first time I've eaten a drug and it took a while for it to kick in. While I waited for the brownie's effects I had another couple of smokes. About an hour later when we were at another bar having some beers it hit me - and how. I somehow still managed to win a game of pool in my state, but didn't have the skills to find my way home. Amsterdam's streets and canals run in a U shape. So if you miss a turn you end up walking back to where you started. It took me a while to get home that night.

To balance this out I fed my soul during the day. Vincent Van Gogh is my favourite artist so I didn't hesitate in going to the Van Gogh Museum. Some amazing works there such as 'Sunflowers', 'The bedroom', 'Self portrait with felt hat', and
AmsterdamAmsterdamAmsterdam

Bicycles are everywhere ! It makes crossing the road quite a task.
his final work 'Wheatfield with crows'. There was also an exhibition of Max Beckmann on display.
Another museum I visited was the Stedelijk Museum (Museum of Modern Art). I find modern art a bit over the top but there was some cool stuff there.

Towards the end of the week I went out with my couchsurfing host and her friend's a couple of times. We went to an area of Amsterdam which isn't part of the centre but has lots of bars. I was taken to a very dutch bar with very dutch people and very dutch music. It was fun just to 'people watch' there.

The red light district is a big part of Amsterdam. I had heard of what to expect but I was still taken aback walking past windows of half naked women. Amongst all the strip clubs and sex shows there are dozens of prostitutes standing behind windows or glass doors in lingerie trying to lure you in. If they get a customer they just close the curtain and go about their business. Some of them are unbelievably good looking. But some - mainly the day shifters - look like they've been doing it
AmsterdamAmsterdamAmsterdam

Rijks Museum. I didn't make it inside.
for the past 30 years. I know some of you will be wondering - NO I didn't partake !

Amsterdam is a strange place but in a good way. It's a must see. I imagine if you're not careful days can be easily lost here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

AmsterdamAmsterdam
Amsterdam

Anne Frank House - I didn't go inside here either
AmsterdamAmsterdam
Amsterdam

Where I stayed. Old freight containers turned into one room apartments.
AmsterdamAmsterdam
Amsterdam

Where we had our space brownies.
AmsterdamAmsterdam
Amsterdam

The main stretch of the red light district.
AmsterdamAmsterdam
Amsterdam

How much is that doggie in the window?


Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb