Between flights


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
May 24th 2007
Published: May 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, here's the first entry (actually, I'm going to try to go back and add some stuff from yesterday and the flight over). Got into Amsterdam around 7:45 this morning, tossed my bags in a locker and grabbed the train into town, to arrive by 9 am. I've been here twice before, and now it definitely feels like I know the city - well enough to not need a map, and EVEN well enough to avoid the Red Light district when I get out of Centraal Station (trust me, if you've been once, thats probably enough of the Red Light district to satisfy your curiosity for life... its definitely too gaudy and full of annoying Brit and American tourists for me!). Strolled down the west side of the old city, following Herenkracht and Prinzenkracht (two of my favourite canals). Grabbed breakfast at a little cafe at the intersection of two canals, under an old tree. Awesome! Wandered some more, checked out a few little art galleries, and parked myself for a long lunch at the edge of a market square (Den Waag, to be precise). Awesome place to sit and people watch, or in my case, try to avoid nodding off while dirnking coffee after coffee and reading the Economist (hey, I figure that as time goes on, I'll have a hard enough time remembering the days, let alone keeping up with what the hell is happening in this little world of ours). Anyway, after a while my jaunt to A'dam had to come to an end. Its 2:30 pm now (6 hours ahead of Toronto for all you there), and I have a connecting flight to Vienna in 30 minutes. Hope to write more once I get there! Cheers...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb